I’d Rather Buy Books …

… than food or clothes.

You heard me. Grocery shopping is a necessary evil and I do it because we love to eat. Shopping for clothes is something I put off until there are holes in my socks and my jeans are frayed.

But give me a bookstore – online, on the street corner, or in the mall – and I’ll gladly spend hours browsing the shelves, checking out covers, and reading back cover blurbs.

When I return home from my shopping spree, I’ll spread the books around me, then study the covers and reread the back story blurb. Or if I’ve purchased the books online and downloaded them to my Kindle, I’ll open each one up so I can view the cover and read the opening pages – copyright, acknowledgments, and story blurb or excerpt.

Then comes the moment when I have to pick which book to read first. If I have a favourite author in the mix, I’ll usually start with her book. Sometimes a story blurb will so intrigue me, my curiosity gets the best of me and I’ll dive into that book instead.

I dream about moving my household into the local library, where I can be surrounded by books 24/7 and browse at will. I’d be the happiest woman in town … except for when it came time to dust each and every book on the shelves.

Hello, my precious books. You are better than gold.

How about you? When buying books or bringing them home, what is your reading MO?

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on February 22, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. I’ve converted to ereading, so I buy a lot more books and love to scroll through the cover images looking at my digital library. I, like you, love to buy books more than anything. Now if I could just find the time to read them all!

  2. The joy of a book is that it takes the mind beyond the boundaries defined by other people. Books are a wonderful way to grow and explore the world without the risks. But books can also cause a person to ignore what is really happening if they are used as an escape.

  3. This strikes me as funny when I think about my book shopping experience, because I do the same exact thing! I also wish I could live in a bookstore, and would not mind dusting them off every morning! =D

  4. I love shopping for books and, yes, I’d rather buy books than shop for clothes. I think it might be genetic because my daughter is the same way! She spends 10 minutes shopping for clothes before darting across the avenue to the book store where she’ll spend hours happily combing through the books. :)

    • It must be a blast to hit the bookstore with your daughter, Tracy. I can see you both in there, combing the aisles for your favorite books. Which aisle do you meet in when you’re done?

  5. Sheila, I have to admit that although my pubbed book is an e-book, I prefer print and probably always will. I got a Nook for Xmas and have almost finished my second book, but there’s just something about browsing inside a book store and carrying that hardback to the register that does not translate to the same feeling as buying on an e-reader.
    And we lost our Borders, so no local bookstore for me!

    • We don’t have a bookstore in the small town I live in either, Patti. I love my Kindle. It takes so little room to store my books and it’s gret for hauling around, but every once in a while, I get the craving to hold a physical book in my hands. :)

  6. I completely agree. I’d rather buy books as well.

  7. Me too :) Love that pink bookshelf.

  8. Sheila, there was a time in my youth when I used to spend my rent money on albums and do much the same … spread them out … read the covers (do any of you remember those strange round, black discs called “records?”) With books I stack them on one particular shelf behind my desk, or inside my kindle. When I turn away from the computer I often scan the titles thinking of what I’ll read next. On the kindle I also scan the first few pages of eacy.

    Loved this post, love that we all Read to Write :)

    • I remember records, Florence. Our oldest son is fascinated by our record collection and is just waiting for us to pass it on to him. :)

      And I can picture you with book ritual. I never thought of it that way, but that’s what it is … a ritual.

  9. You know I’m with you on this one, Sheila!

  10. In my non-writing job, I’m an English teacher. I married a librarian. We have over 6000 books in our house at last count. My husband is not allowed to buy any more bookshelves, so he’s double stacking them. Most were bought used, at flea markets, garage sales, and thrift stores, but they’re everywhere! And…most of the time…I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    • OMG, Leanne, 6000 books? I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone with that many books in there house. That is amazing, and I love that your husband is double stacking them so he can fit more into the collection. :)

  11. Sheila, I hear you on this one! You don’t quite get the same experience from a Kindle. You know what I mean? Love the pic. Where was it taken? It’s beautiful. :)

    • Karen, if you click on the picture, it will take you to a site where you can find more cook and unusual bookshelves. I want to own most of them but the one in the post is my absolute favorite. :)

  12. I probably jump around, reading the first page of all of them, before settling on one.
    Love buying books–even on my Kindle :)

  13. Hahaha. I hate clothes shopping, too. Grocery shopping I enjoy, but not as much as I like to scout for books.

    Yesterday, I friend and I were talking about the fact we never feel alone or lonely because books are a lifeline to other, albeit fictional, people. Those who don’t like to read miss out on that comfort.

  14. bookstores and stationery stores….mmmmm….I do the necessary but I love book stores. and amazon,,,,don’t get me started. I can spend hours there. Is there anything better than a latte and a new book while sitting at starbucks in my favorite bookstore? I think not.

  15. books, office supplies, and home decor. So bookstores, Office Depot, and Kirklands are all like the mother ship calling me home. I do buy alot more on my Nook than I ever did in print, because it is just so easy, but there’s just nothing like the awe and the feel and smell of a new book in print. Love it!

  16. Hmm… Well seeing as we can live without books, technically (though who would WANT to), but not without food, I have to advocate for both. That said, I’d much rather bargain hunt for groceries and cook more often than dine out than skimp on book-buying. Love your insight!

    • So true that we can’t survive without food, August. And eating good food is one of the biggest pleasures in the world. But gosh, I would like someone to grocery shop and cook for me. And while they’re at the store, they can pick me up some new clothes, too. LOL! :)

  17. I agree. Though I’m not prepared to part with my ereaders, I LOVE books. Bet you have an awesome library!

  1. Pingback: Sheila Seabrook » I’d Rather Buy Books …

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,949 other followers

