Tech-savvy or challenged?

Me?

Most decidedly the latter.

I recently made the decision to do my own official website, thinking I’d be all financially smart and save that money.  I’d tried it on a couple of places, WordPress and Squarespace, and quickly ran away in terror, making an appointment with a professional web designer.  But then the more I looked at the fancy sites around, the more I felt like that would be overkill.  I’m not a fancy person.  I didn’t want boring, but I surely didn’t need to pay 1K+ for what I need.   After all, everything written out there about author websites says that a functional and attractive web presence is all you need.  Don’t get crazy with the design.

Okay.

And once we did this blog here, I learned much more about WordPress.  The other ladies can attest to my lack of WordPress-y skills in the beginning, but since then I’ve played in it enough to think I know what I’m doing.

You know what they say about that.  Knowing just enough to be dangerous?  Yeah. 

What I forgot was the reason I’d originally decided NOT to be in charge of this undertaking.  TIME.  Time I need to be writing, which is my strength.  Instead of designing a website, which is–humorous. 

So there I went… got my domain name. Yay!  Picked a theme.  Yay!  No—wait—that one doesn’t allow a front static page.  That won’t work.  Picked another one.  Yay!  Spent four hours on Google looking for pictures for my header.  Then when I uploaded what had to be the perfect one of a lake and trees and a sunset…nope, only could pick this microscopic portion of it.  Like a twig of the tree.  And the title looked like a ten year old did it in Word.  Okay…new plan.  Wanted my title in the picture, so figured out I could save the tiny piece it allowed, go into Paint, add my title in there in a better font, save…and then upload THAT to my header.  Score!

Sent to my WF buddies and to all my friends on Facebook and Twitter, and to my editor, all proud of the site I spent three days working on.  Editor’s response?  Enhh. 

She didn’t like my “twist of paranormal” idea, said I was boxing myself in, and needed to put all the stores my book is available in, sooooo… back to the drawing board.  Two days, custom font purchases, and 26 different theme ideas later…because each one presented its own unique problem, I was done.

Except for one thing.  My site had two HOME page buttons suddenly.  What???  Spent another entire day (at work…I mean, come on, priorities, yanno?) trying to figure that one out.  There weren’t two home pages in my Pages file.  Ended up going to a forum on that theme and whining till some tech-savvy savior bailed me out.  Still have no idea why what he said worked…and don’t care.  It worked.  I’m in business.  My blog is still “over there” on that other place, that will come eventually.  But for now…deep sigh…it’s done.  For $45 a year.  I can handle that.  🙂   

Now to get back to what I do better…. because knowing every single theme in WordPress by heart is not my idea of fun.

So feel free to go visit (www.sharlalovelace.com) …and if it looks like ka-ka…  lie to me.  LOL!

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on August 17, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. OMG, this is too funny. I don’t think I would want to know all those themes either; however, you did it! Be proud.

    Vicki

  2. I see you’re sliding down the front side of the learning curve like I am! Don’t worry–those bruises on your backside will heal. 🙂 Eventually.

    Hang in there — looks great!

  3. I am just beginning the website process. Now I knew who to call!!! I am all set to order “WordPress for Dummies” but I think even that will be above my technical skill level. 🙂
    Great post!

  4. This post=why I hired somebody to do my site!

    Too funny.

  5. You made me laugh even though I know it wasn’t funny to you at all while it was happening! You are WAY more courageous and techno-savvy, girlfriend! I started out with WordPress.com and after less than a few hours, I said no bloody way! I couldn’t wrap my head around any of it, hired a website designer, and was done with it. You aren’t giving yourself enough credit. You pulled it off beautifully.
    Congratulations!
    Patti

  6. I went back to look at your website again and double congrats to you. It’s lovely. I could never have done it.
    Patti

  7. Oh can I relate to your frustrations! Figuring out any new program is always a challenge but you did a wonderful job on your website, Sharla. And I love the Vigilance theme you used.

    When I created my WordPress site, I started out with the WordPress For Dummies book. It was so helpful and saved some of the anguish, but not all.

  8. Thanks ladies!!! Sorry I’m just getting back in here…been a crazy day at work. I should have gotten the WordPress for Dummies…probably would have saved me some time. I spent alot of time looking like that cartoon at the beginning of my post. Bleary eyed at midnight when my husband was like “are you going to bed?” and I was like “I have to figure this out!!” LOL!

    It would have been much easier and better on my sanity to just hire someone, and I probably should have done that. I wish that “wordpress blog” wasn’t down at the bottom, but that’s small potatoes. 🙂 I can say shouldawouldacoulda but in the end, dollars won out. LOL!!

  9. No need to lie, Sharla … it looks perfect for you. It’s elegant and simple and says exactly who you are.

    I am not so tech-savy … but I have a tech-savy/photographer daughter. On my blot, the two magnificent pictures of the Brooklyn Bridge and the one with the graffiti at the end of the side bar are all my daughter’s photographs and she put the whole thing together for me. Her’s is a photo blog and she also has thousands of pics on Flickr.

    If you did that one with the stock photos and put it together all by yourself … You did good 🙂

  10. I went the professional route and I love my website, but it would be nice to have the ability to go in daily and change whatever I want without having to email my designer. Your site looks great and we can all appreciate the time and frustration involved. You should have seen me designing my covers…not pretty!

  11. Very nice home page! I used to scuba, too. Now all my money goes to kids’ braces, etc. Enjoyed the blog about the website. I feel your pain.

