Phenomenal Phriday Phood

Living in California, we are lucky to have an enormous Mexican influence on the culture of all those living within this huge state.  One very obvious way the Mexican culture has impacted us is in the form of the food we eat.

I grew up going to the Acapulco Restaurant in Alameda and one of the staples of my vegetarian diet is the quesadilla.  It can be a great source of protein for those of us who don’t eat meat and I’d like to share with a way to integrate this wonderfully versatile staple into your diet.

First you buy tortillas (corn or flour) at your local supermarket.

Then you shred your favorite cheese on top (I use either Monterey Jack or Sharp Cheddar.  My husband uses Jalapeno Jack.)

Then you take a can of kidney beans or garbanzo beans or actually anything you want (I’ve used Spanish rice or edamame or even popcorn) and sprinkle that over the top of the cheese.

You can either fold it over or leave it open-faced (which would constitute a tostada) and put it in the frying pan.  (I don’t fry mine but rather heat it up slowly until the cheese melts).

EAT!  Combining the cheese with the beans and/or rice forms a complete protein and the variations are endless.

Enjoy!

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. My kids love quesadillas and they are an easy meal for our busy schedule. Thanks for sharing your no meat variety!

  2. Quesadillas are very popular here in Texas too. It is interesting that California-Mexican, Tex-Mex, and New Mexican are different, especially in sauces used. A little salsa or pico de gallo on that quesadilla can spice it up a bit. Enjoyed the post, Patti.

    • I’ve never been to Texas but I’m not surprised at the influence there as well. When I tell people about the combinations I use in my quesadillas, they look at me like I’m crazy and I don’t agree. I didn’t think it’s THAT odd to add various vegies and such to the cheese to make it less boring.

  3. We wouldn’t survive without the quesadilla in our house. We keep lots of high fiber tortillas in the cabinet and anything left over in the fridge is fair game for a quesadilla. My kids nuke them in the microwave making it an easy, no mess before practice snack. 🙂

  4. My oldest daughter loves a quesadilla! Me too, when they have things like spinach and goat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes (NOT traditional, I know) :). One thing we’ve found living in southern VA is that we have to make our own Mexican food if we want it to taste right. A lot of times it’s sort of “dumbed down” here in the restaurants for a palate that is less used to spicy foods, I guess. (I’m from New Mexico!) Thanks for the visuals, Patti! Yum.

  5. Yummm, I think I know what we’re having for supper tonight. 🙂

    Patti, can we add this to our “What We’re Eating” recipe page?

    • Hi Sheila! You know I must admit I forgot about the “food” part of our blog! That’s what overload is doing to my brain. I haven’t looked at that part of our site yet. How would I add it? Is it something simple like copy and paste?
      Patti

  6. Love quesadillas and nachos, and both are staple foods in my house. I usually make a big pot of taco meat every couple of weeks, and then people can make quesadillas, nachos, tacos, taco salads, whatever.

    One thing I’ll do with the quesadillas is put whatever filling (meat, cheese, beans, rice, pica de gallo) on top of one, put another on top, nuke it in the microwave for one minute, flip it over for a few more seconds, and then cut it with a pizza cutter and serve with sour cream.

  7. Sounds like the perfect Mexican pizza! Thanks for the idea, Sharla.
    Patti

  8. Yum! I love Mexican food, even though most of what we get here in Ohio is a long way from authentic.

  9. Hi Jennette! Thanks for stopping by. Is there any particular food that’s “typical” of Ohio? It’s funny because my third novel is set in Iowa and I never investigated what type of food they eat there. Now I’m wondering about Ohio as well.
    Patti

  10. Yum. We had Mexican food tonight, but it’s Friday, so I let someone else cook (restaurant)

  11. I’d like to let someone else cook tonight as well, but, shoot, can’t do that because my daughter’s sick. I’ll fix her a quesadilla!

  12. You made me hungry with those pics! Break out the quesadillas, kids — it’s Mexican night! 🙂

