Ode to Book Bloggers

When I first decided to self-publish, I had a wonderful mentor of whom I asked, “Now what?” She sent me a link to a website of book bloggers and said, “Try to get some reviews.” How had I been a writer for so long and not known there were so many book bloggers in cyberspace?

I spent the next few weeks clicking on each site, reading the review policies and submitting my books for consideration. Let me first say I’m eternally grateful to book bloggers who have a Review Policy heading at the top or side of their blog. Also, some book bloggers don’t accept self-published books and I love it when this practice is clearly stated.

I’ve gotten about a forty percent positive response rate from reviewers. With each review acceptance the same thought kept coming back to me: who are these people and what motivates them to host a book blogging site? I’ve found the answer in their About Me page. Book bloggers are moms and dads, wives and husbands, daughters and sons, employees and stay-at-home parents, students and everyday people like you and me. The difference is, book bloggers take an incredible amount of their free time and give it away to others—both readers and authors.

I’ve exchanged friendly emails with some of the bloggers who have reviewed my books and I always thank them for their time (even when the reviews aren’t glowing) and Twitter and Facebook links to their sites. The truth is, I wish I could do more.

For years I’ve listened to writers complain about how they can’t find the time to write between their kids and their jobs and their spouses and their animals and their missing muse and so on. I’ve always wanted to say to these complainers, “If you really want to write, you’ll find a way to make it happen.”

I should direct complaining writers to the varied book blogging sites on the Internet. Writers don’t have time to write? How does so-and-so book blogger have time to read and review hundreds of books per year, maintain their site, conduct author interviews, host giveaways, feed their kids, spend time with their spouses and go to work every day?

As best I can figure, book bloggers blog because they love reading and sharing their love of books with others. They don’t expect an advance from a publisher or an appearance on the New York Times list or for someone to buy the movie rights to their work. Book bloggers read and share their opinions with others for the sheer pleasure of reading YOUR work. And they do it with grace and tact and appreciation.

In case you haven’t gotten the whole point of this post, I love book bloggers for the mere fact that they exist only to give something back. So thank you book bloggers for your time and consideration and even your acknowledgement that you received my request and can’t or won’t review my book. I love what you do, how you do it, and I know that if everyone behaved in the same selfless manner as book bloggers, the world would be a better place.

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on October 3, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Thanks for this post, Christy. It’s nice to hear something positive and uplifting about book bloggers. I have yet to publish, but when that day comes, I would also appreciate being treated with respect from people who love books as much as I do.

    It is also a great way for you to get exposure and let people know about what you do 🙂

    • That’s the point, Florance, they LOVE books! It is hard to hold a negative opinion of people who love reading and share that love with others for no financial gain.

  2. I am super-impressed, Christy. I will have to do my share of promoting my books when they’re released and am sure that I will be on the path you describe. I’ll probably pick your brain a little as I go as well, if you don’t mind! This was a very positive post to read this morning and it certainly has turned my head in the direction of book bloggers and their reviews. Thank you so much for that.
    Patti

    • The book blogging community reminds me of the writing community–they are friendly with one another and offer advice and insights to each other. I’d be happy to help!

  3. I have a huge respect for book bloggers. The task of reading and reviewing so many books each year makes my head spin and yet the sheer volume of their output makes it look so easy. Thanks for giving us an inside look, Christy!

    • They really do a lot of work for little to no financial gain. They prove that a hobby born of love is very fulfilling.

  4. I love book bloggers too. I have done this with several of my books. Once I found a couple I really liked, I’ve made a friendship and they get the first ARC of my upcoming books!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Tonya! I love book bloggers dedication to reading and getting the word out about books. They are all so friendly, too!

  5. Great post Christy! I know how hard you’ve worked to get your name and your books out there. I’m so happy for your success.

  6. Hi Christy!
    Thank you so much for this post! You are correct! I’m a book blogger and I do this for the love of sharing my joy about whatever book I’ve just read! I don’t get any money for my hobby – It actually costs me money.

    Sometimes it’s hard to find the time, but I think it’s important to spread the word about good authors. It is difficult, though saying no to reviews. I currently have a TBR pile of around 150 books. Maybe I just need to clone myself and open a bunch more blogs 🙂 Sshhh….don’t tell my husband…..

    • Barb,
      I can’t imagine a 150 TBR pile on top of maintaing a blog! You are awesome and we appreciate everything you do!

  7. Thanks for the positive comments about bloggers! We appreciate you just as much as you appreciate us 🙂

  8. Book Bloggers ROCK! 🙂

