Where Did Thanksgiving Go?

“Black Friday, black Friday, everybody loves black Friday!”

Thanks to Kohl’s Department Stores, I can’t get that obnoxious little ditty out of my head.  As if I needed another reminder that today is the official start of the holiday shopping season. Yep, only 30 shopping days left.  Perhaps you’re one of the estimated 152 million people who’ve already been shopping this morning. Or last night. Maybe, you’ve got all your shopping done.  Yes, I know there are those people out there.  One in particular will call me this weekend to let me know of her superior, Martha Stewart like, shopping skills.

Except this year, I’m not going to let it get to me.  I’m taking a stand.  I’m clinging to the last vestiges of Thanksgiving. You know, the actual holiday we celebrated this weekend.

When did we lose Thanksgiving?  It wasn’t long ago the last Thursday in November was a restful day when family gathered to eat too much, drink too much, and watch too much football. (Note to husband:  I know you think there can never be too much football, but this post is geared toward women readers.)  Yep, Thanksgiving Day was always the boring, restful, reprieve before the frantic holiday season.

Now, the Thanksgiving holiday is simply a time to fill our bellies and plan our strategy for late night shopping runs.  We comb through ad circulars while stuffing the turkey.  We ready the car, not for the long trip home from Grandma’s, but to fill it with gifts. We nap after dinner, not because we’ve overindulged, but to ready ourselves for the melee sure to follow in a discount store parking lot later in the evening.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love a good bargain as well as the next gal.  I’m just not willing to get out of my pjs to get one.  Sorry kids. Nope, you won’t get me out among those crowds, especially when OSHA has to issue warnings to retailers to protect their employees from hordes of overzealous shoppers.  I’ll sit (or sleep) this one out, thank you very much.

Will I miss the deals?  Hardly.  Many retailers have begun to offer Black Friday prices BEFORE Thanksgiving.  In fact, you can shop on Thanksgiving Day if you want—22 million folks did last year. Forget about parades with hot air balloons and marching bands.  Forget about the tryptophan daze of a turkey dinner. Nope, all of that is relegated to second place when it comes to bargain hunting.  Soon, folks will simply snap up their turkey and sweet potatoes at a mall food court so as not to miss a good deal.

Oh wait—that’s already happening!  Bass Pro Shop was open all day yesterday, treating customers to turkey they’d deep fried out in the parking lot.  (Note to husband:  If you had gone—even for a little while—you’d be eating your Thanksgiving dinner there for the rest of your life.)  Walmart and several other discount stores were open yesterday as well.

And I think that’s kind of sad.

If you were out there among the millions shopping already this weekend, l hope you got everything you were looking for.  I hope the deals were outstanding.  As for me, I’m sleeping in and enjoying my post-Thanksgiving breakfast of cranberry pancakes with a side of leftover apple pie. For dessert, I’m going to enjoy George Clooney in The Descendants.  Tomorrow I’ll take advantage of Small Business Saturday and pick up some gifts. Happy Black Friday!  Shop til you drop!

How about you?  Do you miss the old fashioned Thanksgiving? What was the best deal you found out there?

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on November 25, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’m with you, Tracy. I’ve never shopped on Black Friday and never will. No deal is good enough to get me into a packed store for merchandise. Granted, I hate to shop, but still.

    If I really want something, I can order it online and be done. Those who brave the elements and the lines are in a league all their own. For them, I hope they had a great time and got everything they wanted.

    By the way, I’ll be over shortly for those cranberry pancakes 🙂

  2. You might want to skip that movie so you can watch LSU’s cochon du lait this afternoon. Apart from that, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The only thing we are going to buy today is a gallon of milk :-).

  3. Reports of shoppers using guns and pepper spray to get to the head of the line! I was right to stay in bed! 🙂

  4. Tracy, I love the old-fashioned Thanksgiving when after being stuffed,most of my family napped while I cleaned up (that was my job) and then after we all rested, we started eating again. Then the next day and on Saturday we continued. It ended on Saturday and whatever left-overs survived after that has to skip to Monday because Italians only have pasta and gravy (what you guys call red sauce) on Sundays.

    As an adult I only relate to one shopping day for which I prepare, take naps, chart a course and fortified with a thermus of black coffee to out at the crack of dawn and shop until I drop. NOT Black Friday … for me the best shopping day of the year is December 26th. Be careful out there and have fun. Me? I’ll wait and catch the real sales 🙂

    • When my kids were young, Boxing Day (December 26) was renamed “Pajama Day” in our house. We’d stay in our pjs all day and eat leftovers, cookies and play games, Now that that kids are older, we usually get together with friends. I might venture out to shop that day, but only if my daughter drags me. 🙂

  5. Sorry for the typos … I’m still groggy from yesterday 🙂

  6. As a Canadian, watching from afar, I’ve never totally understood the chaos of Black Friday. I say, stay home and enjoy your family and friends! Oh, and leftover turkey sandwiches. 🙂

  7. I can relate to all of you and Elena’s Canadian feelings as well. I never understood it and still don’t. I’m showing my age, but whatever happened to stores being closed on the weekends and people observing those days, as well as holidays, for time spent with family? When I was young, nothing was open Saturday or Sunday, then they started opening Saturdays only, then Sat. and Sun. Then, horror of horrors, stores were staying open ON the holidays. There is no day that you can’t go out and shop til you drop. I’m SO happy I do most of my shopping online and don’t have to leave the safety of my home to do so.
    Patti

  8. There are actually buses that take people from Canada into the US to shop on Black Friday. I’ve never been on one but I know of people who gone and loved it. Personally, being the non-shopper that I am, I’ll never take a 10+ bus ride to catch the sales. 🙂

    Glad everyone had such a lovely Thanksgiving celebration!

