Holiday Traditions

This time of year I find myself swept away by the business of holiday traditions.  December has arrived and my schedule is packed solid.  Which is a good thing, right?  I’m surrounded by friends and family, caught up in the hustle and bustle.  Now if only I can squeeze my Christmas shopping in, all will be merry and bright. 

But it’s tough.  There are only so many hours in the day.  What am I doing?  Well, it all starts off with a weekend at Ft. Wilderness in Walt Disney World and Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas in the park.  It’s one of the fringe benefits of living only an hour away from the mouse, we can visit most any time we want!  And December is the perfect time.  The weather is gorgeous, the decorations are to die for (these are from just one campsite), the ride lines are short and when traveling with a group of 10 families and their kids?

Doesn’t get any better for my children.  They’re in heaven.  Reality and school definitely hit hard come Monday but not to worry, we’ll be hoisting up our tree this week and then it’s off to Grandma’s house to do the same with hers!  Along with siblings and cousins and eggnog galore! 

For recover, hubby and I will then sneak off to NYC for a quick weekend getaway and next to Disney, New York is a very festive place to be this time of year.  The tree in Rockefeller Center, Macy’s department store (the only time I can get my husband into a store), colorful lights on most every building, windows adorned with garland and gold…  It really gets you in the mood. 

Now mind you, I haven’t done the first ounce of Christmas shopping because I’m having too much fun.  That’s when the panic sets in.  Aaah!  It’s now middle of the month and we’re about to count down the 12 days of Christmas!  Uh, help?

And you may not believe this, but in addition to all the holiday festivities, we have 6 family birthdays we have to celebrate. ( Don’t want anyone to develop a “nobody-cares-about-me complex” simply because we rolled past their big day without a special party with cake and ribbons just for them.)  So yes, add it to the list of traditions:  “Happy Birthday!”

Hurry up and blow out the candles because we’ve got work to do.  The Christmas lights are up downtown and we must make our annual drive around town to check them all out.  Ruh, roh.  Did Dad put ours up yet?

Frowns all around indicate not.  No worries.  We can always slap a few net lights over the front bushes and call it a day.  Er–I mean, a holiday!  Yes, yes, now has anyone seen the goose?  It’s almost time for the sibling Christmas Eve dinner while we help our little ones track Santa’s flight path across the earth via our friends over at  Norad.  We LOVE that website this time of year.

Phew!  I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for Christmas morning.  Dad whips ups a killer eggs and bacon feast while Mom gets to sit back and relax and enjoy the children enjoying their gifts. How about you?  Any special traditions you have this time of year?

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’m having a blast this Christmas by shopping online! I have yet to hit the stores and am loving every minute of it! I’m sure I’ll have to shop for real eventually, but until then, this is the least stressed I’ve ever been!

  2. Hey–you might be on to something!! 🙂

  3. Just like Christy, I shop online and have been doing that for several years now. I don’t have fun going out into the stores trying to find something to buy for my kids. I’d rather cyber-search then hit the PayPal button. I like to go into the shops when I DON’T have to buy anything. That’s when shopping around is fun for me. Diane, you sound like you have one of the fullest schedules ever. And how lucky you are to be so close to The Mouse. Have fun!
    Patti

    • I’m with you, Patti. I enjoy meandering through a store when I have nothing I NEED to buy. I definitely think online shopping is for me!

  4. Dianne, Your holidays sound fun and festive! I’m envious. Our Christmas is always very laid back. We save it all for New Year’s when we get together with extended family, college friends, their kids and whomever else is around. It’s always a nice end to the chaos of the season.

    • Funny how we’re the opposite ~~ we slow down around New Year’s and clean up the chaos from Christmas! Not to mention deciding whether or not there are any resolutions to be made…

  5. With grown children, the buildup to Christmas is quieter. I’m actually looking forward to the day when there are grandchildren and there’s once again that pre-Christmas anticipation. In the meantime, we get together with family. Oh … and try to stay out of the snow and cold. 🙂

    • Yep — little ones are the secret to keeping it exciting! My son (9) is counting the days and already complaining how much he hates to wait with Christmas Eve the worst.

      I’m trying to explain to him that it’s a lesson in impulse control but he’s not buying it. The boy wants what he wants and he wants it NOW!

      Guess I can’t blame him. I was a bit fiesty that way as a child myself. 🙂

  6. Diane, those are such special traditions, filled with family and fun. I will think of you in NYC since that is where my heart will always be … the special days of visiting each of our famous sites, ending with the giant tree, hot chocolate, pretzels and back home to our personal Santa-land decorations. I miss them being small and wide-eyed, and most of all I miss my mom.

    Make every single second count and again, thanks so much for sharing 🙂

  7. I’m looking forward to visiting your city and seeing some new sites this year as well. Maybe it will keep me out of the cheesecake shops! LOL Never good to eat those things so late at night but Times Square has a way of doing that to me! And the pizza, the Reubens, Italian food…YUM.

