Ormie the Pig

It’s been a rough week. I have the flu and my deadline for the WG2EP Valentine anthology is tomorrow. A week ago, my rough draft sucked and I couldn’t envision how I was going to meet the deadline OR manage to revamp and rewrite the story into something marginally interesting. I felt like Ormie the Pig, in an impossible situation with no hope of success.

Somehow, thanks to a timely bit of inspiration and one of my incredibly patient critique partners, Kreseda Kaine (twitter handle @KresedaKaine), the story will be finished on time.

And I love it. It’s funny and heart warming and today while I rewrote the final chapter, I had tears in my eyes. So stay tuned for The Valentine Grinch, coming February 1, 2012 in the Viva La Valentine anthology.

In the meantime, since misery loves company, feel free to share one of your recent struggles — writing or non-writing related — and let’s laugh at our troubles together. 🙂

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I’m so glad you stuck with it! Can’t wait to see the finished product. As for me, I’m flat-out exhausted after two weeks of promoting one of my stories in a publishing contest. I don’t know what my chances are of winning, but I do know I’ve done my best, so there’s that.

    I’m ready to have some down time over the holidays! 🙂

  2. Congrats on making your deadline–and producing a tear-worthy story. I can’t wait to read it. Viva you!

  3. Congrats Sheila!
    And thanks for a boost of inspiration–I am currently struggling with an edit.
    But I know I just have to keep pushing thru 🙂

    Hope you have a speedy recovery from the flu.

  4. Good going getting going again – I’ll keep an eye out for your valentine’s story! I’m pushing through a revision on a book I’d planned to release by now – I’m probably a good 6 weeks behind, because I underestimated the time needed for revision that badly. So now I’m starting to come clean with readers who’ve asked when it’s coming out, since it said “December” in the last book. :facepalm: Hope you’re feeling better!

  5. Sounds like a great story, Sheila! So great that we are both in the WG2E anthologies. My story is in the Winter Wonderland coming out in January.

    Funny how we always seem to get the flu when pressing hard for something important. I had an awful computer-problem hell day yesterday. Still not fully resolved, but I’ll remember Ormie!
    Thanks for the fun post!

  6. So sorry to hear you’re not feeling well, Sheila, especially during this deadline time! AACK! Congratulations for doing it, though! And I loved the Ormie the Pig video – never heard of Ormie! You should feel proud of yourself that you did what you needed to under such pressure. It shows how disciplined you are and that is VERY important as a writer.
    Patti

  7. Way to go on nailing your deadline! Self-discipline is definitely key. 🙂

  8. I hope you are feeling better now, Sheila. I fought a weird sinus infection last month and it played havoc with my writing schedule. We all have those horrible moments when we are convinced we should take up basket weaving and then the morning arrives … that moment like when you finished your last chapter … when we know … this is what I love and will continue to do. I can’t wait to read yours and all the other selections in the Valentine Grinch … love the title 🙂

  9. Sorry to hear you’re ailing, but am glad about your recovery.
    And meeting a deadline. I suspect the tears were tears of relief.
    Good on you.

  10. Can’t wait to read the Valentine Grinch, Sheila, and so glad our stories will be together in the same anthology! Now that you are done, get back in bed, drink lots of fluids, and don’t even think about anything else until you are better! Your health comes before everything else. Here’s wishing you a very speedy recovery!

  11. Yay for you!!!! Kudos for finishing, and hope you get to feeling better soon. Not fun to be sick at the holidays. I won’t throw my woes in the pot right now… too many! LOL. I’ll just say I’m putting my deadline in God’s hands, mine aren’t big enough. 🙂

  12. Love the pig! I am so looking forward to reading your story in February, Sheila. Rest and feel better knowing you’ve done your best. 🙂

  13. My struggle this weak is with the weather and the gym. I am so tired because of the gray sky and it’s so cold all I want to do is be at home by the fire. I have lost my motivation for going to the gym. I just keep thinking only 2 more work days before vacation, and then I’ll want to exercise. Yeah, right!

  14. I hope that you’re feeling better Sheila! This is not a good time to be sick.

    Ah, the struggles. Well, I am struggling right now to find the balance in my life. Our class kinda wacked me off kilter a little.

    But I have so enjoyed getting to know you and our classmates.

    Thank you so much Sheila for all you blog love and support.

    See you soon! 😉

  15. I am so glad that you’re back. I was concerned when you disappeared. The flu and deadlines suck but …

    Glad you got your mojo back, my friend. You are such a wonderful writer that I know you’re going to succeed in this business.

  16. lynnkelleyauthor

    Yay for making your deadline, Sheila. You’re a real trooper, pushing through in spite of the flu. Gosh, I hope you feel better soon. Maybe a hot toddy would do the trick?

  17. Ugh. It’s especially when we are sick that the dark side takes hold of us and tells us our writing sucks. But being a professional, you kept on going made a silk purse. 🙂 Way to go!

    I hope you are taking it easy now so you can recover fully. Get well soon!

  18. I just want to thank everyone who stopped by. Your well wishes mean a lot to me as do the tales of misery. Thank you, all, for dropping by and making me feel better. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Sheila Seabrook » Ormie the Pig Redirect

