Cranberry Bread

One of our favorite goodies to share this season is cranberry orange bread.  I discovered this recipe on a trip to Kennebunkport, Maine at a lovely Bed and Breakfast Inn by the name of Captain Lord Mansion. It was years ago.  Frankly, I don’t care to admit how many years, but numerous to be sure.  🙂 Translated:  they may not serve this bread anymore but when they did, it was warm and accompanied by a bowl of oatmeal.  While its delicious plain, butter makes for a delightful addition. 

So this year, if you’re looking to bring  a smile to someone’s face and you want to try something new, give this one a chance.  It’s a hit with everyone who tries it, cranberry lovers or not!

Cranberry Bread

With this recipe, they say to make sure it is made exactly as written. Or as close to exact as possible.  I don’t follow recipes to a “T” and this one still manages to come out delicious. 🙂 So feel free to experiment!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Sift together in large bowl:

2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

5 cups flour

2 1/2 cups sugar

3 tsp baking powder

In small bowl using a hand mixer, place the following ingredients one at a time. Beat vigorously after each addition.

2 eggs

8 TBSP melted butter

2 cups orange juice

1 cup water

Make well in dry ingredients and pour at once wet into well. Stir until moist.

Fold in

2 cups whole cranberries (can be frozen)

Pour into 3 greased and floured pans and bake for 1 hour — careful NOT to over bake.  Check with knife — should come out clean.  Serve warm and enjoy.  Freezes well.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Oooooooohhhh. I love breads like this. Made banana nut bread last night, in fact. I’m not a cranberry fan, but I’m thinking that blueberry or strawberry or really anything would work with this recipe. I love the idea of putting the orange juice in…yum, this sounds really good Dianne!!

  2. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Dianne! Looking forward to trying this one with the family!

  3. Yum! I’m putting this on the New Year’s Day brunch menu.

  4. I agree with Sharla, Christy, and Tracy. This recipe sounds really luscious. Thank you, Dianne. It will be the first time I’ve ever made Cranberry Bread.
    Patti

  5. Love this, Dianne. And it’s so festive looking, too. I think I’ll try it and serve it on New Year’s day.

    Thanks so much for sharing!

  6. Oh gosh, I grew up in Maine and I couldn’t get enough of this! 😀

