Pecan Tarts

Following in Dianne’s awesome culinary footsteps…I thought I’d share what I will be making tomorrow night.  My mother’s pecan tarts.  I do not have a picture yet, but once I do, I’ll put this in the recipe tab.

Each year, my daughter and I go through my mother’s old recipe box that I confiscated (stole) after she passed away. 🙂   We decide what we will attempt that season, out of her handwritten recipes.

So here you go, exactly how my mother wrote it…and fair warning…they are addictive.

Pecan Tarts

1) 8oz pkg cream cheese
1 1/4c butter (stick)
2 1/2c flour

Blend softened cheese and butter.  Stir in flour.  Chill for 1 hour.  Shape into 1″ balls.  Place in ungreased muffin cups, and press dough to bottom and sides.

Make filling:
3 eggs
2c brown sugar
2 1/2 tbsp soft butter (stick)
2 1/2 tsp vanilla
1  2/3c chopped pecans
Dash of salt

Beat together till smooth, all except pecans.  Divide half the pecans among cups, lining the bottoms, add the filling.  Top with the rest of pecans.

Bake at 325 degrees, 28 mins. Cool then remove.

Enjoy!!!

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. These sound great. Can I make them using the mini muffin tins?

  2. Oh boy, Sharla, these sound better than my raisan tarts, which I did not make this year because I’m tired of them. But I love pecan pie and if I can still find tart shells in the stores (I have to buy them, I cannot make them!) then I’m going to make these and hope I don’t eat the entire batch myself. Yikes!

    Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe! And wishing you and yours a wonderful holiday season!

  3. I, too, inherited my mother’s OLD Good Housekeeping cookbook and it’s so gravy-stained with pages falling out, it’s kinda gross. Not really, though, because I know it was well-used and I still refer to it to find things I can’t in other places.
    Have a great holiday, Sharla!
    Patti

    • I agree…love those old recipes. I have one index card that is splattered with god only knows what, but I keep using it anyway. I could copy it over, but it’s in my mom’s handwriting and I just can’t bring myself to get rid of it. 🙂

  4. Sharla,
    Even I can make these! My husband loves pecan pie, so this might be a great alternative. Thanks for sharing.

    There’s nothing better than making recipes from the ones we loved and lost over the holidays. My daughter and I are going to make my grandmother’s cookies. Hopefully we won’t set the house on fire!

    Merry Christmas!

  5. YUM! These are a definite ADD to the holiday baking list!

