Give to Receive

I had planned to write today’s post on Saturday when I would have had a few hours between the hustle and bustle of getting ready for Christmas, but a phone call Friday evening changed everything.

My dad, at the young age of 66, died of a heart attack on December 23. He hadn’t been feeling well and the Lord decided to take him in a way that I can now say was humane. So I’ve been a little busy. But before this happened, I was going to write a post about charity and giving and end of year donations. Thrilling, scintillating stuff, but important nonetheless.

I donate proceeds from my book sales to five different charities and will continue to do so. My dad donated lots of time volunteering for dog rescue groups around Metro Atlanta where we live. The support and condolence calls we’ve received from these organizations have brought us all to tears.

He gave a lot and now the people he gave to are giving so much to my family at a time when we need so much. We need him, of course, but in lieu of him, we need stories of how his life changed others and made them better. The search for the meaning of life happens at a time like this.  So I guess what I’m trying to say is, give what you can–be it time or money–to people and organizations that mean something to you and you will receive so much more in return.

Rest in peace daddy.

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on December 26, 2011, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh Christy, your post brought me to tears. We all have personal goals and dreams, but at the end of our life, when we look back, I believe the ones that will stand out the most, are those that benefited more than ourselves.

    I think your Dad will have a LOT of that to look back on — and what’s better than that?

    Be kind to yourself while you work to get your equalibrium back.
    Thanks for sharing this important lesson/reminder.

  2. Peace be with you and your family Christy.

  3. What a lovely tribute to your father, Christy. I know that the people who are so selfless like your father are those individuals I am most impressed with and look up to, hoping to be able to emulate them during my lifetime. Because I’m an animal lover, I read your story about his involvement with animal rescue with awe. Individuals such as he have something special to offer the world. And he obviously did that. I know you’ll remember him always with pride and a smile.

  4. Christy, I’m so sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this difficult time. May your dad rest in peace.

  5. A sober reminder to cherish each and every day. God bless you and your family, Christy.

