Fun With Santa

20111227-165548.jpg

A few years ago, my husband decided it was time to decorate the house, you know, like regular folks do at Christmas, with more than just a Christmas tree. Since I’m not much of a decorator, he went out himself and bought a whole whack of Santa ornaments. When our youngest son came home from work that night and saw the house littered with Santa figures, he said, “Our house puked Santa.”

Since then, it’s been a running household joke. This year, when the boy removed Santa from his bathroom counter and stuck the figure on a shelf where we would be sure to find it, we decided to have a little fun. Every day, the boy would come home and find Santa in a different location.

The first day we tucked Santa into the boy’s bed. When the boy arrived home and found him, not a word was said.

The next day, we went looking for Santa. The boy had hidden him so well, we had to search the whole house. Finally, we found him on the top shelf of a book cabinet. This time, Santa got a note hung from his beard and we put him on the counter next to the fridge, where the boy usually leaves his lunch kit. The note said, “My darling boy, I missed you so much today, I cried while you were away. Your parents won’t play with me. Please take me to work with you tomorrow.”

Again, Santa was not mentioned but it was obvious the boy’s after-work mood was getting a much needed lift.

The next morning, we located Santa in our bathtub. Because this Santa was of Scottish heritage, we left the boy a note that said, “I’m Scottish and I like to go commando. I dare you to look under my skirt.”

And so the countdown to Christmas continued, with the boy hiding Santa every night and us finding fun ways to entertain him… or perhaps we were simply entertaining ourselves. 🙂

Do you have a holiday Grinch in your family and if so, what kind of tricks do you use to beat humor the grinchiness out of him/her?

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Haha, omg, that’s amazing. Great idea – I would giggle a lot.

  2. Too funny, Sheila!! This sounds a lot like the Elf on a Shelf tradition we have. The purpose of the elf is to keep the little ones in line by reporting to Santa each night on their behavior. As the kids got older, the elf has gotten more mischievous at night: moving things around, decorating bathrooms and making his famous elf breakfast every Christmas Eve morning. Unfortunately, he doesn’t clean up after himself! 🙂

  3. That is SO funny, Sheila. What a cute tradition. I can’t think of anything that we do that’s as inventive and unusual as that. The only thing that would come close is that each year someone gets a gift that they have to find by following written clues. It starts out with a card with a sort-of poem that I’ve made up, leading them to several points around the house, until they reach their “big” gift. It’s fun and usually the person doesn’t “get it” that easily and has to be led to the next clue!

  4. I’ve only done the card clues once and wish I’d taken the time to do more of it when my boys were little. I guess just cause they’re grown doesn’t mean I can’t still do it, huh? 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. What a fun, new tradition you’ve started! Love it and your Scots Santa.

  6. I have the giggles after reading your post, Sheila 🙂
    Maybe next year I’ll start a similar tradition at my parents’ house!

  7. That is too cute Sheila! I think it’s even more fun with an older child like that, because you can really get creative and they can too.

  8. What a fun game/tradition! It reminds me a little of the hide the pickle thing, which my family forgot to do this year. It also reminds me of a game that was started after a bachelorette party, but I won’t go into details. Sounds like your family had a lot of fun and started a great tradition. I hope I remember to find something to hide next year.

    • Hide the pickle? Ohhh, I’d love to hear what that’s all about? And the bachelorette party? Hmmm, perhaps you’ll do a blog about that one day, Emma, and satisfy my curiosity. 🙂

      Thanks for sharing!

  9. That’s so funny, Sheila! I did a talk with a book club and another friend and I found an army man in the corner of a picture frame. Whomever finds him gets to hide him in the family rooms. They have been doing this for years. I just love the idea.

    • We must be drawn to things like this because it gives us something out-of-the-ordinary to do. How cool that the army man fit in the corner of the picture frame.

      Thanks for sharing, Vicki!

  10. I’m the grinch. So I just remove myself from polite society. People don’t want to keep hearing “It’s not your birthday. You’re getting nothing.”

  11. what a great idea Sheila. and something fun to do with a grown son or sons. I don’t do anything so exciting I’m afraid.

    • This was just a spur of the moment thing, Louise. Work was making our son grumpy and I wanted him happy for the holiday season. I knew he would get a kick out of it and it would take his mind off work. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping in!

  12. oh, how fun, thank you.

  13. What a fun thing to do! Hmmm. Gives me several ideas for next year. Thanks for sharing this.

  14. Luv this post, Sheila, And the Scots Santa. Too funny!

  15. TOO fun! Keeps us young, doesn’t it?

  1. Pingback: Sheila Seabrook » Fun With Santa

