2012

This is my last post for 2011 and I think it may just be the most fun.  I know many people are on vacation and may not have time to be on their computers, might not be reading all the blogs they usually subscribe to, or won’t have the inclination to comment to ANOTHER blog about New Year’s resolutions.  However, I’d love to hear what others are deciding to do that’s new for the coming year.

Mine?  I thought about this one quite a bit.  I wanted to have a resolution that I could use every single day, without fail, and that was fairly simple, though not easy, and would be able to make a difference in my life for an entire year.

I resolve to try my best to be more positive and replace negative thoughts with positive ones.

There.  I’ve written it down.  And anyone who’s reading this post has seen my 2012 New Year’s resolution.  Maybe that will enhance my resolve to put it into effect, not to forget it, to act on it each and every day.  I read once that the number of negative thoughts a person has each day can be in the hundreds.  If I try to counter every thought with a positive one, I should be a happier person and therefore a better wife, mother, and friend.

How about you?  What is the one resolution you wouldn’t mind sharing with the rest of us?

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Positive thinking is a habit and needs to be consistently cultivated. Any time you have a negative thought or a negative word comes out of your mouth, counter it with something positive and it will become a new habit. It takes 21 days to make or break a habit, so be diligent. Good luck!

    I don’t make New Years resolutions because I’m always aware of my shortcomings and bad habits and consistently trying to grow beyond them. Being the best that I can be is my goal. It’s a life choice, not a resolution.

  2. Patti, I like your resolution of being positive. Over at the Plotting Princesses we are blogging about the same topic and I couldn’t fix on a resolution. However, to strive for self improvement is the best thing we should want. Thank you for reminding me. ox

  3. GREAT way of looking at life! I completely agree with you. My “resolution” is a life choice that is forever – not for one year. Thank you for putting that into perspective.
    Patti

  4. Oooh, that’s a good one Patti! Mine is to be thankful for at least three things each day. There is plenty in life to be thankful for, and I often find myself lost in the negative. So I guess we aren’t too far apart on our resolutions.

    Another resolution is to live life like I mean it. This is not a dress rehearsal. 😀

    • NO, it surely is NOT a dress rehearsal. When I think that I can’t go back and I can’t be sure of the future, and all I have is today and the NOW, then I better darn well make it the best it can be and not waste time!

  5. Patti – Nicely phrased. Good food for thougoht. I hope to take the time to truly care about each person I meet (especially the elderly, children and the animals). Happy new year.

    • Oh, a woman who thinks similar to me – in the sense that I have a big huge soft spot in my heart for the elderly and children and animals. I think they’re a large part of our society that is ill-treated and misunderstood. Make every day an important one!
      Patti

  6. I’ve been reading many blogs on new year’s resolutions and have been debating mine. I’d like to be kinder to others, not that I’m not usually kind, but there is always room for improvement. 🙂

    • Your resolution gave me pause, for sure, because from what I’ve read since I’ve “virtually” known you, Sheila, you are one of the kindest people EVER. All your comments and your posts ring strongly with consideration and thoughtfulness. Just saying…..
      Patti

  7. Funny you said that about Sheila, Patti. She’s one of the kindest people going, true, but you’re one of the most positive.

    I want to be a better friend in 2012. I neglected a couple of friends in 2011, and I’m sorry about that.

    • Well, Pat, I say it’s never too late to reignite a friendship that fizzled out due to distance or whatever. If you didn’t have a huge fight with someone and told them you never wanted to speak with them again, then why not try to become friends again, right?

  8. After the death of my father and the unbelievable outpouring of support from my friends both online and off, I’d like my 2012 resolution to be a better friend to everyone. As a writer, it is easy to hole up and produce, produce, produce, but life is about more than writing and I’m going to do my best to embrace the wonderful people in my life. Happy New Year, everyone!!

  9. Thank you, Patti, for sharing your resolution with us. I, too, am trying to be more positive in 2012 and beyond. I’ve always been a half full kind of girl, but the world around me this past year has chipped away at my optimism. 2012 will be better! I’m positive. 🙂

    • Hi Tracy! I try my best to be the glass half full type of person and I notice when negativity rears its head in my children and husband. It’s hard to surround yourself with positivity if negativity keeps popping up, but I try.

