Ducks, Waddling, and Quacks – Oh My!

I don’t know why I chose to write about ducks today.  Actually that’s not true.  I took a social media class online, taught by Kristen Lamb, and she asked us to write down 100 words that would describe ourselves.  At the time I thought that was crazy.  One-hundred words to describe ME?  Impossible.  But I let me mind wander and it wasn’t that hard at all to come up with 100 words to describe “Patti”.  You should try it some time.  It’s actually fun!  Anyway, she had a reason for her request.  As an author, Kristen says that readers want to know about us.  And what better way to do that than to pick a word that describes ourselves and write about that subject.

And one of my favorite things in life are ducks.  I mean, who can pass a duck waddling across the grass and not think they have the cutest way of walking?  And that quacking!   It makes me laugh every time I hear it.  Several months back I got out of my car at the local grocery store and there, in the middle of the parking lot, was a mother duck and her ducklings, keeping warm on the black top.  When they crossed the parking lot I had to play crossing guard so that they could safely navigate to another area.

There’s just something about the way ducklings scurry behind their mom that’s endearing.  It brings out the nurturing instincts in both men and women.

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Cute photos, Patti! I don’t think I could come up with 100 words to describe me, either! I also don’t think I want to try! Have a great weekend!

  2. Patti,
    Lovely topic. Ducks are important. 😉
    And it proves that a writer can write about almost anything – you can write abut almost anything.
    Mitzi

  3. Thanks for this, Patti – how intriguing! 100 words…hmmm. I could probably do it, but who would want to read it but my mom? 😉

    LOVE the ducks!

    • Laura, you are too funny! I’m sure all of us who follow you would LOVE to read some of those 100 words. Don’t kid yourself, buster, (as my Dad would always say). You could do it and I’d read it! Go Ducks! Or is that only appropriate for people from the University of Oregon?
      Patti

  4. Hey, Patti. A long time ago, my son and I were driving by the lake near our house and he said if could come back as an animal, he would be a duck because I duck could fly to new places. Isn’t that sweet?

    100 words about me? geez.

    • Hi Vicki! Doesn’t that make perfect sense, though? Being able to fly to new places and then land in a beautiful body of water and swim around, looking at your other duck friends and the sky… Sounds perfect to ME!
      And the 100 words really are for you and your blogging. It certainly helps me.

  5. And ducks are great when you see them flying. For me, it means fall is coming and the hellish Texas summer is almost over. There’s nothing like going to the wetlands and watching them. Their jewel toned feathers look amazing in the morning sun.

  6. We have ducks that return to our acreage every spring. The last couple of years, they’ve been getting braver and wandering up to the house. Last year, we caught them peeking into the basement windows. They are so cute, waddling up the driveway on their way to check the neighbors. 🙂

  7. I love watching ducks and listening to them quack, too! But the best part is watching kids enjoy them. Put a child near a duck with bread in hand and you can’t help but laugh at the sheer enjoyment and fun!

    • I will always remember feeding the ducks when I was growing up. In fact, we owned a duck and when it grew to full size my parents made us bring it to Lake Merritt in Oakland and put it in the duck pond with the rest of the ducks. I was devastated.

  8. Hi Patti – Ducks – fun and intriquing word to place on your list of 100. I’m now taking the class and still working on ‘the’ list. Thanks for reminding me that I don’t have to take myself so darn serious.

  9. Patti, how delightful. Waddle, waddle, quack, quack, we have a gaggle of them who reside next to the lake out back. About those 100 words, it would be hard to give you the PG version.

    • I WISH we lived on the lagoon here in Alameda where a lot of ducks congregate, but, alas, I have to get my duck fix when I ride my back around the lagoon.
      About those 100 words, Florence, I don’t have a preference for a PG version.
      Patti

  10. As the owner of six ducks, I can say for certain they are SO darn cute! Of course, as they mature and become a bit, um, hormonal, they start to become little perverts. But they are kind of cute perverts.

    Great post, Patti!
    Lani

    • Oh, Lani, I’ve never met anyone who owned six ducks! In fact I’ve never known anyone who owned ducks period. My mom made us give ours up because when they got older she didn’t like all the duck poop around the yard. But I loved our little duckie!

  11. We have several ducks and two swans in our neighborhood. Some days it’s really relaxing to sit and watch the swans glide across the lake while the ducks splash around in the fountain. Neither of them like it when the geese arrive for an overnight stay. It’s hilarious to see the geese try to run them off!

    • Wow – swans! Now that would be my dream – to be able to sit by a lake and watch swans and ducks and geese. Sounds heavenly! One of my favorite movies is “On Golden Pond” and I dream of taking a vacation like that.
      Patti

  12. So true… I love ducks. We have several resident ducks at my kids’ school pond. Very fun but sometimes hectic when it comes to traffic. 😦

    • Yeah, I know what you mean about the traffic. It was so funny when I was trying to get the cars in the Lucky parking lot to stop so the mama duck and her ducklings could cross. Everyone was very kind and waited patiently.

