Wordisms!!

I’m talking today about the butchering of the English language.  Now…that being said, remember I’m in the South, where this happens hourly, but still there are things that give even me and my slangy self a twitch.

An old coworker and I used to call these “Wordisms” and we collected them as we heard them.  These are only a few on a looooong list.

So here you go…WORDISMS
(otherwise known as… Things Said That Make Your Skin Itch)

Concreke:     Some of us know this as concrete
Digikal:      Digital  (I can’t explain this….”t” challenged?)
Discovery Card:   Discovery Channel / Discover Card
Flustrated:     Flustered or Frustrated…pick one please…
Ideal or Idear:      It’s Idea
Irregardless:     Just plain old Regardless
Oncet:     Once.  My dad used to do this…put t’s at the end of everything
Twicet:    Twice.  Yep…same thing.
Supposively:   Supposedly

   and a personal favorite…
Walmark:     A relative of Digikal…instead of Walmart

Very small selection of what has become a giant list…  LOL!!

What words do you hear mangled on a regular basis?  Are there any that drive you batty?  And are there any that you do yourself??  I can’t think of any actual word mangling I might do, but my husband or friends probably could provide me with something pretty easily.  LOL.  What I do notice that I do is say “like” and “um” way too much.

Tell me your wordisms!!!!!

 

 

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. My husband always says “acrossed”. Drives me crazy. His mother does it too, so I guess I can blame it on her! Fun post 🙂

  2. I’m a Yankee, married to a Texan, so this is a subject dear to my heart (and aching butt.)

    Kinta: a relative to
    fixin to: A plan on doing…
    turning off cold: I never got this. My head hurts thinking about it.
    La Mesa: a town in Texas (on the border of Mexico) pronounced, “La MEEsa.” Go figure.
    futherest: the farthest away. This guy has a Masters degree.

    Some cute ones:
    My mother-in-law is afraid of heights. When we go over a freeway overpass, she says, “My stomach is weaving.”

    The one I’ve adopted is y’all. “You all” just isn’t the same.

    • Oh Laura, I’m laughing because I’m in Texas and guilty of many of these. “fixin” is a staple. As is “y’all”. I grew up here but moved around, and my daughter was born in Colorado, so when we moved back when she was five, “y’all” was the craziest thing for her to grasp. She’s all Texas girl now, but she thought I was nuts then. “Futherest” is funny, I realize now how much I hear that. I love the weaving stomach!!! LOL!

  3. This is SO weird, Sharla. My blog today is about the “100 Most Beautiful Words in the English Language”! You and I must have been dreaming about words for the last few days! Anyway, my pet peeve is “aks” instead of “ask”.. AACK.
    Patti

  4. My dad, God rest his soul, couldn’t pronounce the word “chimney.” He called it a chimley. Strangely enough, so does my father-in-law. My dad also couldn’t say the word tiger. He pronounced it tager. It was never a big issue until one year our softball team was the Tigers. So embarrassing to for 12 year old me!

  5. These are hilarious, Sharla (and everyone else who’s contributing to her word list!). I can’t think of any wordisms, but if my husband was here right now, he’d probably tell you that I use them all the time. I blame it on an overactive brain trying to shove two words out of my mouth at a time. LOL!

    My grandma used to have a funny saying. Whenever one of the other women in the home was bothering/annoying her, she used to say: “She’s so ugly.”

    Have a great day!

  6. Sharla, not that I would want to compete with any Southern Belles out there, but there is nothing on the planet that can compare to “Brooklynese” for butchering the English language … It’s whata’ya doin’and yo, bro. … I was gonna get’cha one for Antny (Anthony) but Natlie (Natalie) gets dem instead. Yeah, did’ja see Natlie … where she at. I ain’t goin’ nowheres or he went somewheres. Tomorra for tomorrow. Oh yes, aks was wonderful for a Brooklyn kid with a lisp!

    Bada bing, bada boom … it took me yeers to get Brookln out of my speech. I mean hey, I was borned der 🙂 The real shame is that my father was a liguist, my mom from Upsate New York and my brothers spent most of their time there as kids, so among 57 Italian relatives, yours truly was the only cousin who spoke Brooklynese. Ya want a ham samitch?

  7. Ha! I believe I’ve heard most of those! Tennessean here!

    How about “dreckly” as opposed to “directly”? I hear it on an almost-daily basis! (Growing up, I used to actually think “dreckly” was a real word. It was only when I struggled to find it in the dictionary, I asked my English teacher, “HOW do you spell dreckly?” She gave me this funny look and said, “I have no idea what you’re trying to say. Use it in a sentence.” She was originally from the north and had never heard it before! So I said, “I’ll be there dreckly!” (That was the most common sentence I’d heard!) I think she wanted to fail me right then & there. LOL

    • “Dreckly”, I love it. When I was very little, my dad and I would say the “now I lay me down to sleep” prayer every night. And you know how sometimes things are just rote and you don’t think about the words? Well, I thought “now I lay me” was one word. “nowalaymee”

      I actually remember the day I sat down and thought about that “word”, and realized what it really was. LOL.

  8. Very FUN post. 🙂

  1. Pingback: “Wordisms” at Women Unplugged! « Sharla Lovelace, Author

