The Simple Things…

If you are like me, you are meeting yourself as you walk in the door.  I wave hello at the equally frazzled version of me as I come in from work and she is off to buy something/pick up something/bring someone somewhere….and hope that she did the laundry so I don’t have to.

I did something this past weekend that I’m kind of embarrassed to admit really stuck with me.  Because it was something I haven’t done in probably close to a year.  The fact that it really settled around me like warm milk and made me notice…makes me think I should do it again.

I sat down outside in the sunshine and did nothing.

On purpose.

I didn’t write, I didn’t pretend to write, I didn’t clean ANYTHING, I didn’t cook anything.  I sat outside in an old chair (yeah, that one up there isn’t mine…I wish it was!)  and listened to the cockatiels in our aviary chatter.  I closed my eyes and absorbed the warmth on my skin that was probably wondering what the heck I was doing.  My daughter came out to sit on the ground and read.  My old lady dog came outside to sit between us on a warm pavestone.  It was sooooo nice.  I loved it.

I’ve been so frantic since I signed with my publisher, bouncing from one issue and deadline to the next, that I haven’t taken the time to just enjoy the simple things.  It may get crazy again soon…in fact I want it to….but I’m hoping I’ll remember this time to stop and breathe.

What do you do to decompress?  Do you have a favorite place or activity?

 

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. It’s amazing how when you run such a busy schedule and get caught up in the tasks of the day, sitting down and relaxing is the most simple and most wonderful pleasure. I love sitting in the sun! It’s hard for me to get in the mindset to allow myself to do nothing, but once I commit, I never regret it.

    • I’m exactly the same way. It’s so hard for me to do nothing…I constantly have a to-do list going in my head. Even if I sit down to watch tv at night, I’m folding clothes or thinking about some such something or other that has to be done the next day. LOL. Or writing blog posts and scheduling them out. We need to allow ourselves veg time!

  2. I pop on my headphones and walk on the treadmill. I just let my mind wander (sometimes with plots, but mostly fun fantasies!) and relax. It’s great way to decompress and my family leaves me alone because they think I am working out which is nearly impossible at 3 mph! 🙂

  3. I’m lucky – I plot on my bicycle – so I’m outside any weekend day the temps get above 50 degrees. I know exactly the feeling you’re talking about, Sharla.

    I have to enjoy it on the bike, because if I sit in a chair outdoors to enjoy it, I fall asleep! And who has time for that?

  4. I loved this post, Sharla, because it brings to mind that I almost NEVER stop. I’m always doing something. When I think about that, it makes me want to scream. I should feel comfortable just sitting here, doing nothing for a change, and just enjoy it – without feeling guilty, that is. I force myself to listen to a relaxation tape by Lucinda Bassett which lasts about 15 minutes and takes you from a breathing exercise to slow and pace your breathing, to a tense your muscles then relax them exercise, and ends with imagery of a lovely place near a falls. I love her voice and it’s my time to relax.

  5. Every day, I make a note on my to-do list to do something fun. LOL! And it never gets checked off. Why is that, I wonder? 🙂

  6. Yes Sharla, it’s magical when we can find those pockets of time to just relax and breathe. I swim, or walk in the pool. The sun and the water calm me, and when my time is done, I sit back and let the sun dry me off. This is my time and I relish it. My best decompression came when the kids were small and I do it even when I am alone. I get up while the world is sleeping and sit by a window with my coffee and watch the lights go off and the sky begin to turn from night to day.. No thoughts, just the trees and birds and the city beginning to come to life 🙂

    • Ohhhhhh I love that image… I love times like that too. Love early mornings on the weekends when I can be up before the rest of the house and the world’s still asleep.

  7. Bath tub. Can’t read my kindle or iPad — can’t write, can’t see the TV. Nothing. Just me and warm water. Ah…

  8. I shut everything down tonight and watched tv with the kids. The other night we pulled out UNO and had a long match. When I need time on my own, I’m with you–nothing beats the great outdoors. I usually end up walking my dogs. It does wonders for my heart and head. Thanks for reminding us to slow down!

  1. Pingback: Simple is as simple does… « Sharla Lovelace, Author

