Pop That Bubble!

This past weekend, some friends invited us to a Moroccan restaurant way outside our bubble, otherwise known as our neighborhood. I’m an adventurous eater, although a lot of food doesn’t like me as much as it used it (darned old age). We ate soup from bowls without utensils, dipped appetizers in bread, ate meats and desserts I hadn’t had before and ended the meal with spicy tea. Oh, yeah, and we also sat on the floor. Both of my kids got jiggy with the belly dancer (including my almost teenaged son) and we all had a great time.

This experience got me to thinking about life. So often we live inside our bubble, going to the same places with the same people over and over and over again. We get comfortable living in a neighborhood where everybody is pretty much the same as us. Like usually seeks out like. But sometimes, when we step out of our comfort zone, the most amazing things can happen.

I’ll give you one perfect example. Years ago, I started writing a novel because I’d read a really bad book and thought I could do better. When I figured out that I loved writing novels, I knew I had to learn more and become involved in the writing community. This was WAY outside my comfort zone. WAY, WAY OUT! But I took a deep breath, put my big girl pants on, and marched myself to the local romance writers meeting month after month.

Was I uncomfortable? You better believe I was. Did I walk into those meetings and feel like I’d found exactly what I was looking for? No, not necessarily. But I kept going and I can’t tell you how glad I am that I did. It was at those meetings where I met my support group—a group of women who I’m now fortunate enough to call friends—very, very good friends. I adore these women and even if one or all of us stopped writing, we would still be friends. I’m a better writer because of these women, I’m a stronger person thanks to their encouragement, and I feel a part of something special when we are together.

I never would have made these friendships if I’d stayed inside my very comfortable bubble, there is no doubt in my mind. So the next time you feel like playing it safe, not making waves, or putting your dreams on hold, do something crazy and just try something new. Come on, folks, I dare you!

Now, I’d love to hear a story of how you all stepped out of your comfort zone and what happened when you did. I’d also like to wish one of my friends and support group members and very Happy Birthday…Tracy Solheim! Yeah, I know. I’m SO lucky!

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I am counting my blessing at the halfway point in my life and you, Christy, are among them! Thanks for the gift of your friendship and your unending support. 🙂

  2. This touches to many of us, Christy. (Happy Birthday, Tracy!!) Standing on the outside of something we want, holding back, shrinking into wallpaper, are common to some of us less adverturous types. Going to the first writer’s group meeting was all of these terrors and more. I am very glad I did … glad for you that you also did. If you had not, I would never have read your book … see … big girl pants suit you 🙂

  3. Thanks, Florance! I have to remind myself to put the big girl pants on every day 😉

  4. Christy, I love it that you were prompted to write a book because you thought you could do a better job by writing one of your own. I love that! And I know what you mean, too. At the beginning of my writing I started reading books in a totally different light. I couldn’t help critiquing the novels I read with a different eye than before I’d decided to write. I knew what I didn’t like to read and knew what I DID like to read, so I jumped into the fray and started. You have to make that jump, just as you did. Great job!

    • I completely agree, Patti, that I read differently now that I’m writing. It kind of spoiled it a little bit until I read something totally enjoyable.

  5. Stepping outside our comfort zone is so hard. I’d gotten used to just driving in my local area and letting my husband drive the rest of the time. Last year, I wanted to attend a workshop about 3.5 hrs away. My husband wasn’t able to drive me, so I loaded up my mom and we drove down, just the two of us. It was awesome, just the two of us, and when we got home, I felt so free, knowing I could drive anywhere I wanted to. 🙂

    Is it Tracy’s birthday? Happy birthday, Tracy!

  6. Each and every time I speak in front of a group I’m walking the tight rope (or high wire?). It totally unravels my pulse but I continue to do it because the goal outweighs the pain. I have things to say!

    This Valentine’s Day I’ll be speaking to a group about gardening and living healthy — I’m already nervous! 😦 But pop, pop, pop and away–I’m doing it!

    Great topic and Happy Birthday, Tracy!

  7. You girls are all great !
    I’m gonna step out of my bubble in a way that I’m gonna visit this blog more often. 🙂

