Chocolate, anyone?

On today, the day after the sugary-sweetest day of the year….aka….Valentine’s Day, I pose a question.  Actually, two questions.

1) What did you do for Valentine’s Day?  Big plans?  Little plans?  Something special with someone?  Or do you write it off as another commercial day.

 

2) What is your favorite candy?

 

As for myself, we don’t do much anymore.  By that, I mean we don’t buy expensive gifts or make dinner reservations that require ties or pantyhose.  He usually makes me the dinner he made me on our first date…grilled shrimp kabobs.  And I usually try to do something sweet like leaving little Butterfingers (his favorite candy) in hidden places around the house with little notes.  It’s not much, but it’s fun.

This year, he tells me he got me this for Valentine’s Day.

 

Now, while I’m very much in LOVVVVVVVVE with this beautiful red gem… I pay the car notes so “gift” is a little loose for a description.

Now, as for the other question…

I love DARK CHOCOLATE.  Actually, I love any kind of chocolate.  Nutter Butter cookies dipped in chocolate….oh my goodness.  But dark chocolate is my true love.

 

So tell me about your day…and your crutch!  🙂

 

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on February 15, 2012, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love those Milky Way Midnights with the dark chocolate. Oh, and the Dove caramels! My hubby took me to lunch yesterday. That way, we avoid the hustle and bustle of dinner out and we can share the evening with the little princess. 🙂

  2. Well, our Valentine’s Day for the first time was pretty boring because my husband had to work and didn’t get home until late and then we had to go to my son’s last basketball game, arrived home late after the got totally smacked, and went to bed. We did have a few minutes to exchange candy gifts. I gave him a pound-box of his favorite See’s candy and vice versa and I gave my kids pound boxes as well. It was not romantic. Life got in the way this year. Maybe next year?

    • I still make my kids a Valentine’s bag as well. They’re 17 and 21, but I can’t help myself, and they look forward to it like little kids. 🙂

  3. Hi, Sharla! What a wonderful Valentine’s gift! And how sweet your hubby makes you a special dinner.

    Usually, Handsome and I go out to a favorite place, a quiet neighborhood Italian restaurant. But, he went out of town. And felt weird. I indulged in my favorite Hershey’s drops, a lovely, salad and TCM. I’m sure he will make it up to me. 🙂

  4. Love the new vehicle, Sharla. Even though you have to pay for it, it was nice of him to do all the car shopping for you. 🙂

    We did nothing to celebrate the day. In fact, we haven’t for several years now. However, in the days leading up to Valentine’s, my husband kept wishing me a Happy Valentine’s Day and calling me his Valentine. He was so sweet and charming, he kind of reminded me of the guy I used to date before I married him and before we had kids and mortage payments and … oh, you get the picture. LOL!

    No chocolate in our house. The only time we splurge on it is Halloween and Christmas.

  5. I’m with you on the dark chocolate, Sharla! Love, Love, Love it!

    We don’t celebrate this Hallmark holiday, but I always get a little something for the kids. This year, I got them some delicious chocolate cupcakes from a high school friend who has started her own cupcake business. They are sooooo good, and I’m not usually one to indulge in cupcakes.

    My husband says, “I love you every day of the year, not just Valentines.” Yeah–kinda sweet, and kind of a cop out, but I’d be really upset if he wasted a bunch of money on overpriced flowers and a dinner out.

  6. Frozen Reeses cups and best thing about my Valentine’s? The card from my husband. He’s VERY good with cards. (Among other things…)

