Chewing Gum: A Dieter’s Best Friend

I’m battling the sagging middle.  And not just the one in my work-in-progress.  I’m talking about middle age and all the junk that goes with it.  Well, mostly the extra 15 pounds of junk clinging to my middle.  Where did it come from?  Strike that.  I know exactly where it came from.

I have a confession to make:  I’m a bit of a stress eater.  Okay, I’m a big stress eater.  Candy, cookies, cupcakes; you name it, I want it.  Especially when I’m writing.  While other writers spend their “mind breaks” (translation:  writer’s block) surfing the internet or stalking their old high school boyfriend via Facebook, I’m pulling out the mixer and baking up a batch of Toll House Cookies.  Not for me. Of course not.  I’ll send them to my son at college.

Public Disclaimer:  Before my son rat’s me out, I have sent him cookies this year.  Twice.  The others were of such an inferior quality that I had to get rid of them.  I’m just not saying how.

I do exercise.  But these last few months haven’t been that productive what with a hinky disc in my back and now the fiberglass claw I have to wear on my broken wrist.  I manage three miles in 40 minutes each day on the treadmill, but that hasn’t been enough to combat my hibernating metabolism.

So I’ve resorted to drastic measures:  I’m dieting.  Yes, I’ve returned to the land of weights, measures, and counting points.  Weight Watchers is effective.  And, a lot more fun now that I have an iPhone.  So far this month, I’ve lost 5 lbs.  Okay, it’s not really lost.  That five pounds is actually sitting on the candy aisle at my grocery store in the form of a five pound bag of M&M’s, but I’m resisting temptation.  So far.

And I owe it all to chewing gum.  Now while I write, I chomp on a big ol’ wad of gum.  Hey, at least my jaw is getting a workout.  And my dentist need not worry, it’s sugarless and the whitening kind.  Yeah, I know, pathetic, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

What’s your favorite snack when you write?

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I’m lucky that my office is in the basement. I’m far away from the kitchen and I only venture in when my stomach begins to growl. I’m more likely to grab a handful of peanuts and Kroger brand cheese bits before heading back down.

    I come from a long line of sweet tooths, so I have to have something sweet every day. Middle age is the pits because even though I always exercise and try to eat right, things just keep getting gooier…

  2. Gum helps me not snack, also. I think that carbs make me happy, which makes it easier to write. Congrats on the 5 lbs. every little bit helps.

  3. I have had the opposite problem – when I am deep into my manuscript, I will forget to eat. GMR will come in “did you eat yet?” – believe me, I’m really NOT one of those people who don’t eat, but somehow I can turn into one!

    Have you ever tried interval training — moderate cardio with bursts of high-energy cardio? It has done wonders for me — body- and boredom- wise.

    But now i want some cookies! 😀

    • When I am on a roll, I often work through the day and only realize I skipped lunch when my daughter arrives home from school. Then I binge. ;(
      I am trying to work in the interval training now. It’s working pretty well so far!

      • I really like it – I resisted for a while, thinking my running was enough, but once I started the intervals, I saw a big change, and it helps with my jittery chaotic brain not to be bored!

  4. Tracy, congratulations on the five pounds! Eating is such a joy, especially when it includes cakes and cookies and M&M’s. 🙂

    I don’t munch while writing, but I do have a mid-morning snack. Unfortunately it’s a high calorie, high fat, high sugar granola bar. These days, it heads straight for my middle and hips and I know if I don’t do something soon, I’m going to have to buy a larger pant size.

    And I love to bake and do it when I’m bored, then eat it cause it’s handy. Since Christmas, I’ve made a point of not baking anything except for banana loaf, which the men take in their lunches. It’s full of whole wheat flour and has very little sugar.

    Keep on chewing that gum cause you’re doing awesome!

  5. Thanks, Sheila for the encouragement! Of course, now I’m dreaming of banana bread….

  6. I’m right there with you, Tracy. Stress eater, big time. Sugar, all the time. It becomes like crack to me – calling me, no matter how far away.

    If I eat while I write, it’s mindless, and I don’t even appreciate what I’m eating, so my office is a food-free zone. If I want something to eat, I have to do it elsewhere. That helps.

    I excercise too – a lot. But at the rate I’m eating, I’d have to ride my bike from San Fran to home every day (500 miles) to lose weight!

    Yikes! Now I’m stressing about putting on weight! Hey, I think there’s a cupcake left over in the fridge! I’m coming, my love!

  7. Congratulations to you for the 5 pounds you just lost! I’ve been on many diets in my life but not for many many years. I was anorexic when I was 20, so I know how to “not eat”. I have the opposite problem – I have to eat more so I don’t lose too much weight. So, I will end my comment with this: I hate looking at skinny people with a bunch of bones sticking out. I wish I were fatter because I DO know how to diet. But, alas, one always wants the opposite of what they have, right? Long hair wants short hair, skimpy eyebrows want Brooke Shields’ eyebrows…. you get my drift. For people like me, I envy the curves and padding.

  8. Chips…I love chips…way too much!

    And now I’m craving banana bread too, but mine isn’t healthy… 🙂 I put pecans and more bananas in it and then drown it in butter…mmmm…

  9. That’s so funny about the gum! I used to do that in college when I needed to lose a few pounds. 🙂

    And when I write? I forget to eat. It’s a problem, I know. And one I don’t usually realize until it’s time to run pick up the kids! So now I make “time” for lunch, generally a salad of sorts, to keep my energy up and my metabolism moving!

