Coming Down from Vacation

Went to Colorado for spring break with the family and I’ll tell you, vacation really unplugs me.  So far out of my routine, my mind disconnects and I lose track of the flow for everyday life.  A good thing, I know (unless you have 100 things going on that need attention!).

But we can all use a break and what better place than the Colorado Rockies?  Especially this time of year.  Blue skies, warm temps, not much snow (but who noticed?).  There was plenty enough on the ski runs!

I have a girlfriend who invites the family and I out every year to stay with her for a week and while we don’t always make it, we do enjoy the years we can.  After all, this is the woman responsible for introducing me to my husband.  Back in our younger day, we were on spring break, took a ski trip and spotted the handsome devil in a bar in Vail (not the advisable place to meet one’s future spouse, but suffice it say, 16 years and 2 kids later we’re doing just fine).

So we have somewhat of a soft spot for this location.  And now that the kids love it (and my girlfriend, her dog, her sense of fun and spirit of adventure…), we all enjoy the trip!  But alas, reality hits and the vacation ends and it’s time to return to the daily business of living.  And now it’s time for me to move back into the “zone” and prepare for spring. I have vegetables to plant (and harvest — my sweet onions are nearly ready!), a WIP to finalize and prepare for May release, a blog hop to launch—and then of course there’s summer break to look forward.  Hello beach, here I come!

Life is good.  How about you?  What do you do to unwind? Do you find it difficult to plug back in?

Posted on March 26, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the reminder Diane. It’s so easy to set apart those times when we say we are going to get away and enjoy life without the constant deadlines and allow freedom from the daily responsibilities. I’m leaning I have to find slots on the calendar to block those days/weeks in. Glad you had a great time and those moments with loved ones are magic indeed.

  2. Dianne,
    I have a soft spot for Colorado as well. It is the setting for two of my books and a place where we enjoy spending as much time as possible.

    Vacations can be both relaxing and stressful and no matter what, plugging back in can be hard. With technology, it is much easier to take day to day life right along on the trip and that usually helps to ease the transition, but doesn’t help the vacation.

    So glad you had a great time and best of luck with your garden!

  3. Yay for you, Dianne, for taking time off and away from the routine! We try to go on vacation every summer and yet, we all take our laptops and our cell phones. What WOULD it be like not to? They had an “unplugged” night a few days ago and I forgot to participate. I swear, I’m addicted to all that stuff. Maybe this summer I’ll do what I promised myself and leave them all home…not the kids, but the cells and laptops, that is.
    Patti

    • Confession: I did bring my laptop on the plane to do some editing over the long flight. *blushing* But I do have a schedule to keep!

  4. I’m glad you had such a lovely time, Dianne. We all need to unplug (pun intended) and you picked my favorite holiday scenery … the Rockies. But for me, it’s the Canadian Rockies. Every year, we head to Banff, Alberta for a few days of pure relaxation. Dining out, getting massages, and enjoying those rugged and amazing mountains surrounding us. 🙂

    • I hear Banff is AMAZING in the summer. My husband and I went years ago during the winter (to ski, of course!) but never once visited during the warm season.

      Now I see it’s a MUST do. Thanks!

  5. Glad you had fun, Diane! It is nice to get away and reconnect with family and old friends. With both kids on different schedules this year, our spring break will be spent at home. But, we’ll have some dear friends coming to visit!

    • That’s what I’ll be facing soon–when my daughter gets a bit older and changes schools. ARGH! Tough. But “stay-cations” can be fun, too!

