$$ Dreaming Big $$

Have you got yours yet?  No, I’m not talking about tickets to the Hunger Games.  I’m talking Mega Millions, baby.  Tonight could be the night this country’s largest every lottery jackpot is paid out.  As of yesterday, the jackpot stood at $540 million—or a measly $389 million if you pick the cash option.  Either way, it will be history making and life changing for the winner or winners.

I’m not a regular lottery player.  Occasionally, I’ll pick up some scratch off tickets as gifts for the hard to buy for uncle, cousin, or my husband.  But, I’m only willing to throw away $10 on the lotto when the jackpot reaches a ridiculous level.   After all, the odds of winning are about one in 175 million.  I’m not sure, but I think the odds might be even less if you actually know someone who’s won the lottery, which I do.  A close college friend.  Of course, another close friend from college was struck by lightning which just goes to show we were probability busters. 🙂

The ten dollars I spent on tickets isn’t too much of a waste, though.  It has provided my daughter and me with endless entertainment spending our imaginary cha-ching.  My 14-year-old isn’t too greedy.  She just wants to buy a $13 million horse farm and, maybe, to hire someone to clean her room. She’ll clean her own stall, thank you.

What would I do with all that cash?  Well, I’m pretty keen on my daughter’s plan for the room cleaner.  Except I’d like him or her to clean the whole house.  Every day.  In fact, I’d probably have multiple houses that need cleaning.  And I’d travel.  All over.  My friends would have to come, too, so I’d have someone to hang out with.  I’d also probably buy a really nice car.   And, someone to drive me in the dark.

The best part of having all that money would be giving it away.  I know some children in Haiti who’d get first dibs. A nursing home in Maryland would be next.  The Interstitial Cystitis Association would never have to pander to Congress for research funding.  It would be a full-time job just donating the money to worthy causes.  Hmm…probably have to hire someone for that.

What would you do if you won the lottery?

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. It is sad to say I’ve thought about this and honestly the only thing to change would be my charitable giving and like you, the cleanliness of my house. I hope whoever wins understands that money doesn’t buy happiness.

    • I’d probably get a different house– one with the master bedroom on ground level. And a lake house in Georgia, but even I couldn’t spend 100s of millions in the rest of my lifetime.

    • I always pray that the winner is someone who desperately needs it. Like the guy who won here in Atlanta who needed a transplant. Karma is good sometimes.

  2. Same as you and would also pave my parents road with dirt colored concrete. I don’t know how much half a mile of concrete costs. Probably alot.

  3. Yeah, it would be cool if someone who REALLY needed money won that jackpot. Personally, I’d do the same as your daughter and buy a horse farm and have someone else manage it. But then I’d get to ride every day. How cool is that? Otherwise, like everyone else it seems, I’d buy a new house somewhere on the beach and another on a lake. Money can NOT buy happiness but it would be fun to give away a ton of it to charitable institutions.
    Patti

  4. The biggest lottery in Canada is only $50 milion. Should we ever win it, we’ve decided that we’ll give each parent, brother, sister, niece, and nephew an even million. That still leaves about $20 million to split with our two boys and donate to charitable organizations. Waaaay to much money to truly appreciate, isn’t it. I can’t imagine a lottery worth over $500 million. Wow!

    I do agree, Tracy, that the most entertaining part about buying a ticket is sitting around with family or friends, discussing how you would spend it if you won. That entertainment alone is worth the $5 or $10 we spend. 🙂

  5. It’s up to $640 million now. If no one wins–I can’t imagine that happening with the number of tickets sold–it will be over a billion dollars next week!

  6. #1 – I wouldn’t tell anybody!
    #2 – I’d continue my life as is–with extra vacations!
    #3 – Charity

    Amazing thing? All the lives ruined by mega millions. 😦 Just goes to show that money can’t buy you happiness.

