Coffee, Tea, or…Not

Just got back from Starbuck’s coffee house with my decaf-latte-tall-extra-extra-hot in my hand and was literally moaning at how good it tasted.  The white creamy foam was sweetened with the tons of sugar I’d mixed in, the coffee not too strong yet lightly evident.  I loved it.  It’s a treat I don’t allow myself every day.  At $2.75, although it costs less than the almost $5 a gallon I pay for gas, I don’t buy a cup every single day.

My sister-in-law drinks tea.  Lipton tea.  I could understand if she drank some exotic blend of Jasmine with Peppermint Root or something, but Lipton?   I don’t know how she finds that tasty when compared to the luscious treats you can drink at Starbuck’s and Peet’s.  There’s just something special about the scent that assails your senses when you walk into a buzzing coffee house.  There’s no comparison to the Folger’s crystals that you scoop out of the glass jar and add hot water, at home.

What’s your preference?  Coffee?  Tea?  Or…?

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Patti, Java every time. I enjoy tea as a change of pace and prefer herbals, hot or cold. Coffee however is in my Italian veins and I love it: black and sweet … like my men 🙂

  2. I don’t drink coffee at all! I do drink hot chocolate at Starbucks — which is super-yummy. But I enjoy tea from time to time, always a flavored one. In fact, I love going to Teavana and trying out new flavors.

  3. I’m lost without my morning coffee…or latte. A few years ago, my husband bought me an espresso machine with a steaming wand for Christmas. Since then, I’ve enjoyed at least one large latte per day. The machine has paid for itself because I rarely buy a latte when I’m out and about. Why do that when I can fix one at home?

    Of course, when we are traveling, I have to settle for regular coffee. The horror! The horror. I put a little powdered creamer in it and make do.

    With our evening meal, I fix iced tea for use to drink. I use 3 tablespoon of honey to sweeten the entire 64 oz. pitcher of tea. That way, it is not bitter…but too sweet. I can’t drink what most southerners call “sweet tea.” It is so sweet that it’s like drinking watered down syrup.

    Fun post. 😀

    • On the tea, it should read: That way, it is not bitter…but not too sweet, either. That’s what I get for getting in a hurry. 😀

    • I’m not surprised you have an espresso machine! I once had one and then we stopped using it because I started to drink decaf and my husband drinks really strong coffee. I discovered Starbucks at that time, I guess, and we never bought another espresso machine. For me, it’s all about the “foam”.

  4. Why choose between coffee and tea? They’re both so good! Just in their own different ways 🙂 Personally, though…the smell of freshly roasted coffee can’t be beat!

  5. This Scotswoman drinks tea. My grandmother and my mother used to serve it to me in the afternoon with shortbread cookies. I serve it at dinner parties along with coffee. Neither my husband nor I drink coffee, but I love a cup of hot chocolate on a cold morning. 😉

  6. I’m definitely a coffee girl, straight up, no cream or sugar. When we’re traveling, we’ll stop at Tim Horton’s and my husband gets a coffee and I get their green tea (because I can’t drink their coffee without a donut ). Otherwise, it’s water all the time. 🙂

  7. I used to drink coffee, but it now gives me such heartburn that I’ve switched to green tea. I dreadfully missed my coffee at first, but now not at all, but I do love the smell!

  8. cappuccino lots of sugar in the mornings
    tea in the afternoon
    coffee after dinner (though these days I’m taking it decaf.)
    gives me the energy to sit at my desk most of the day.

  9. Totally coffee — tons of sugar and cream! I’m the one they ask, “A little coffee with that sugar?”

  10. Awww Patti! Coffee AND Tea. Just ordered some flavored coffee from Nuts On-Line. Yummy. Always looking for fabulous teas to drink. Yummy. I use whipped cream in both which is low car, low sugar and makes them taste like a delightful vacation every time.

    Love ya!

  11. I love a carmel macchiato from Starbucks. I get one about once a week. The rest of the time I make do with coffee at home and iced sweet tea. I also like hot herbal green tea and yes, even liptons. I think the smell of coffee is divine. 🙂

  12. I LOVE coffee!!! Love that coffee sign/picture at the top too! I had that as my background for a while. 🙂 We have a Keurig, and an espresso machine. Either way, I love flavored creamer – that’s my favorite part!

  13. Patti – My commute was so long in DC – I hit 2 Starbucks before I made it to the office for a Venti Skinny Latte. These days I have my own machine and make them at home, but the habit is still about $8/day. I think it’s a bargain – 120 calories each – plus protein. Never tea. . . I remember the characters in your book going to Peet’s:)

