Nobody puts Baby in a corner….

I’m recycling a post from my blog tour earlier this month, since it was fun to play with.   Enjoy!

So let’s chat about some of our favorite movie or book couples of all time.  Actually most of these are movies, but that’s what came to mind.

Titanic – Jack and Rose – How much did you cry when Jack gave up his place on the—plank?  Whatever it was, I was yelling, “There’s fifty others floating around, fool!”  And then what tears when Rose pried Jack’s frozen fingers from hers and let him go, saying, “I’ll never let go.”  I blubbered like a baby.  Every time I’ve seen it.

Gone With The Wind – Scarlett and Rhett – A smart-mouthed woman and an arrogant man that can’t get enough of her no matter how many times he tries to walk away.  “Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn.”

When Harry Met Sally – Harry and Sally – Women and men can’t just be friends, at least not in the movies, and not when it’s hysterical Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan.  Finally realizing their love over “Auld Lang Syne”.  And then there was that café scene where Sally proves the math that every woman knows.  Every woman has done it, and every man swears it’s never happened to them.  Go figure that one.

Rocky – Rocky and Adrian – “Adriaaaaaaaan!”  Enough said.

Tarzan – Tarzan and Jane – Who doesn’t love a story about a proper lady turned primal by a jungle man?  “Tarzan love Jane.”

Grease – Danny and Sandy – “Summer Lovin….he got friendly holdin’ my haaannnnd.”  “She got friendly…down in the saaannnnd.”  Yeah, Danny, really?  But nothing like a boy who’s willing to change his whole identity for her, while she does the same.  Awwwwww…

Forrest Gump – Forrest and Jenny – “My momma said life is like a box of chocolates…you never know what you’re gonna get.”  Forrest spends his whole life accidentally falling into fortune, while following the love of his life in one way or another.  She’s all he wants, even when she ditches him, time and time again.  And even when she’s dying.  That’s true love.

Dirty Dancing – Baby and Johnny – I saved this one for last.  “Nobody puts Baby in a corner.”  Oh dear God, who didn’t melt all over the floor on that one?  Wealthy girl meets poor boy and defies Daddy to be with her Johnny.  We miss you Patrick.

Okay!  So tell me more.  Who did I miss?  What are your favorite couples????

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Okay Sharla, how about Tom Cruise saying “You complete me” in Show Me The Money? My son and I used to play this game at random. On the subway or during a commercial or while eating … say a line of a movie and the other one had to guess. Some of them were easy like … “You lookin’ at me?” Couples that you love to watch can take me back to Nick and Nora (The Thin Man) or the longest and sexiest kiss in The Thomas Crown Affair. But I can’t leave this without quoting “Jack” (since Hollywood only has one) when he says in Terms of Endearment, “If you wanted me on my back, all you had to do was ask.” Stop me someone, please 🙂

  2. I LOVE When Harry Met Sally–it’s my all time favorite movie.

    I like Jennifer Garner and Timothy Olyphant in the little known Catch and Release. Great chemistry and really cute story.

    Looking forward to reading everyone’s comments!

  3. Oh, Florence, I love that Jack line. It’s true “guy” talk. LOL.

    Okay, my favorite is also a Tom Crusie movie, but it may have been been the female romantic lead in the movie. I’m sure someone here will remember: “You had me at hello.”

  4. Rhett and Scarlett, all the way!
    Oh, but wait, Jaimie and Claire from Gabaldon’s Outlander!

    Oh no, wait . . .

    Thanks, I’ll now be thinking of these all day!

  5. The movie was “Say Anything” with John Cusack and Ione Skye. The best scene is when he’s holding the boom box with Peter Gabriel playing. My favorite line is when the Cusack character says “One question: do you need… someone, or do you need me?… Forget it,
    I don’t really care.” LOVE IT!

