When I Grow Up, I Want to be Snickers

Do you ever wonder what it would be like to wear every emotion you ever felt on your sleeve? To show, without embarrassment or shame your love, distrust, affection, displeasure, and irritation at the very moment you experience those feelings? Our dog Snickers is a living, breathing example of emotional expression and, surprisingly, she has many adoring fans despite her pit-bull like appearance.

When Snickers is happy to see us, she wags her tail, jumps up to greet us, and sometimes squats to perform what we call “Happy Pee.” When she’s tired and asleep on our bed and we want her to get down, she expresses her

Snickers' Puss & Boots Face

Snickers' Puss & Boots Face

displeasure by groaning loudly and often. She gets slowly to her feet and looks back to make sure we weren’t just kidding (even though we never let her sleep on the bed). When she is scared she barks, when she wants us to share our food she gives us her Puss and Boots face, and when she wants to go outside, she scratches us with her paw.

My all time favorite Snickers move is when, on our daily walks, she throws herself on her back and does a happy dance in the grass, soaking every ounce

Snickers' Happy Dance

Snickers' Happy Dance

of joy out of the glorious wonder of being alive. No matter how tired I am or how big a hurry we are in, her happy dance always brings a smile to my face. Dogs are the most wonderful and curious creatures!

A life without dogs would not only be boring, but incredibly lonely. So if you’re having a bad day or feeling lonely or unappreciated or just plain blah, do yourself a favor and spend some time with a dog. Don’t have one? Check out the various dog rescue groups in your area, but be sure you understand what it takes to be a responsible pet owner.

If you’ve got some time today, let me know about your dog and what he/she does that makes you smile.

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on April 30, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Every morning, my dog loves to wake my husband up. She get’s so excited when she runs in the bedroom and goes around to his side of the bed, her stuffed cow mooing loudly in her mouth. Okay, I’ll admit it, I take secret delight in this because I hate that my husband gets to lay abed while I fix breakfast and pack a lunch for my daughter!

    • Somehow the dogs get me up when he’s sleeping in. That doesn’t seem quite fair! I’d love to see Jetta with her stuffed cow!

  2. My Yellow Lab Cody loves to play and will be naughty on purpose just so we have to chase him! TOO cute!

  3. I will never be without a dog friend, preferably two to keep each other company. I spend most of each day alone, while my kids are in school and my husband is at work, and I love having them next to me. They uplift my spirits when I’m down and I love talking to them.

  4. Christy, this was so touching. This is also the reason dogs are used in old age homes to cheer residents. I’ve had two dogs and the second one was really my daughter’s and after I retired I think I missed her more than the kids.

    The most remarkable thing my dog ever did for me was be my friend. She never walked on a leash and never ran ahead of me. And I am sure you won’t think me mad, but she was a talker. I had a cat that was a talker. My dog would actually mouth out phrases like she was saying sentences. I would answser her and she would say something else. she loved to sing to music and when I was feeling down or I was afraid she nuzzled in my neck. If I cried, she did also and pushed her face into mine until I stopped.

    Yeah, I had a bird that talked. My mom told me the reason my pets could talk is because I never shut up and they learned it from me 🙂

    • Thanks for telling us your wonderful pet experiences, Florence! Sounds like you’ve been bitten by the love bug where animals are concerned. We certainly have! From one pet lover to another, thanks for sharing!

  5. I haven’t had a dog since I was a child, although I’d love to have one. My youngest son bought his girlfriend a puppy. But when they broke up, both my son and I missed that dog something terrible. We still talk about him, wonder how he’s doing, wish he was there to play with. 🙂

  6. You can always get another, Sheila! I couldn’t live without a dog. For your sake, I hope you take the leap–you won’t be sorry!

  7. Our Psycho Cutie Girl and Old Man both have such different personalities and what makes me laugh is how they mimic GMR and me. PCG (Maggie) is nuts – psycho – jittery – shy – realllly camera-shy, weird, strange – just like me! *laugh* and OM -formerly Not Quite Fat Dog (Jake) is calm and steady and doesn’t really show emotion on his face much and everybody loves Jake — like GMR 😀

    Both are “rescues” – Jake from the streets where he was starving and skinny and wormy, and Maggie from the local shelter.

    • Christy Hayes

      Thank you, Kat, for sharing your wonderful pets with us. You brought out a very good point that applies to our family also. Snickers is quite similar to my husband and Hershey, her sister, is much more like me. They are perfect together just as my husband and I have been happy for many years.

      I love to hear great rescue stories!

