Happy Memorial Day!

On this holiday, I’m going to make my post very short and sweet so those of you kind enough to read can get away from the computer and enjoy the day with your families and friends.

The parents on my son’s baseball team were helping me brainstorm blog ideas and one fine gentleman (you know who you areJ) suggested I write about how kids these days don’t really know what Memorial Day celebrates. To most kids, the holiday represents a long weekend, the start of summer, when the pool opens, and when dad fires up the grill after a winter hiatus.

It’s sad to think that even in the middle of a war, most of our youth don’t have an appreciation for the sacrifice brave men and woman have made and continue to make on their behalf. Come to think of it, most adults don’t have the proper appreciation for the holiday, either.

So be sure to raise your flag today, thank someone in the service (past or present), or say a prayer for those fighting for our country and away from the ones they love. Don’t ever forget what a privilege it is to be an American. I’d love to put a name to our prayers, so if you have a loved one or a friend serving our country, please let us know in the contact section. I’ll start: my nephew Christopher is proudly serving in the Navy. We miss you, bud.

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on May 28, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. On Holidays like this (Veteran’s Day, VJ Day, San Jacinto Day – hey, my family’s from Texas!) I made my daughter tell me what they were about, or she couldn’t have the day off – I’d put her to work. She hated it at the time, but she knows the meanings of every one, now!

  2. U.S. Marines 1/6 Bravo Company are on my list. They are back from Afghanistan awaiting another tour later this year. Have a great day, Christy!

    • Christy Hayes

      I’ll keep them on mine, too. I wish you and your family a wonderful holiday, Tracy!

  3. Christy, it is so true that many of our youth, actually many of their parents have lost the true meaning of this day. It is for me a reminder of my mom’s birthday. It doesn’t matter that she has passed, I celebrate her birthday each year.

    Sadly, it seems that every generation has had a “war” to identify with, sad memories to share or bad dreams to try and forget. Mine was Vietnam. Each year on this day I also remember a cousin, one very young boy who thought it would be a good idea to join the army and use veteran’s benefits for college. His family could not afford to send him and he didn’t think he was smart enough to get a scholarship.

    One day I will travel to Washington and touch his name on the wall. He was in country one month when incoming hit the tent he and six others were sleeping in. It would be nice to live in a world where young men didn’t have to sacrifice their lives for our benefit … but alas we do not. Honor them and remember their families. RIP Frankie.

    • Christy Hayes

      Thanks for sharing your memories, Florence. I hope you do make it to Washington because the memorial is very moving.

  4. Thank you for this post, Christy. I want to shout out a thank you to my nephew, Barrett Clinton who, thank goodness, returned from the war and has a wonderful girlfriend and two gorgeous children now. Booyah, Barrett!
    Love you,
    Auntie Patti

  5. Christy Hayes

    Thanks for letting me know about your nephew and his family. I hope Barrett enjoys today.

  6. A beautiful post, Christy. May all of the soldiers come home safe.

