“Are We There Yet?”

Yep.  You guessed it.  it’s that time of year again and I’m taking the kids on summer vacation, this one sans husband.  We have another planned with him.  Look out Florida Keys, here we come! 

But that’s later.  This week the kids and I head to my girlfriend’s cabin in the mountains, good ole Tennessee.  We’ll stop at Stone Mountain along the way to break up the trip, listening to Gone with the Wind on audio.  Woohoo — can’t wait!  Gorgeous mountain woods, babbling brooks, quiet wooded paths…

I look forward to the R & R.  The kids?  Not so much.

No problem.  My friend has horses.  Kids love horses, right?  Well if you call running into tree branches a good time, then sure–this one’s for you.  But not us.  Last summer, my daughter (the older child, mind you) refused to ride alone on a horse so being the agreeable mother that I am, I allowed her to ride in front of me on my horse.  Easy does it, big fella.  We’re all friends here. 

All was well until we came upon a large tree branch hanging in our path.  No problem, right?  My son ducked.  We’ll duck.

Wrong.  My daughter acted like she never saw a tree branch in her life and froze.  Panicked–screamed as she grabbed hold of said branch and whisked herself right off the horse.  In an attempt to ease her to the ground–as opposed to dump–I too grabbed hold of the branch currently in my way but with the horse still in motion, the dang thing took half the skin off my forearm!  Grrrr…

Needless to say, this year we’ll be saying hello to the horses, but we won’t be mounting them.  Maybe the river is a better idea.  Wading through shallow water, floating around in tubes…  Yes, I can feel it now–ahhhhhhh. 

“This water is too cold!”

“I lost my tube!”

How about a nice hike?  We can trek up to the falls and back.  The adventurous type myself, I like to jump from a high, down into the pool of crystal cool mountain water.  Makes me feel young again.  The kids?  You guessed it.  Not so much. 

Hmph.  Maybe this vacationing with the kids stuff isn’t such a great idea.  Perhaps that’s why they invented summer camp? 

Just a thought!  How about you?  Care to share any family vacation stories?  I could use the “pep talk: right about now!  Knowing I’m not the only one should help. 🙂

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Christy Hayes

    We are driving from Georgia to Colorado with the kids this summer. I’m sure I’ll have plenty of stories once the trip is complete. We don’t leave for a month, but the complaining has already started…

  2. Dianne, the horse story is hilarious. I’m still trying to figure out what your daughter was thinking at the time. LOL! Getting inside the mind of a child or teen would be totally interesting. 🙂

    With grown children, my vacations are much more relaxed. But I do remember a vacation when my DH cut his finger down to the bone with an axe because our two year old decided to get up and close personal with daddy chopping wood. I remember another vacation when our oldest only came out of the motorhome to hike but the moment we’d return from the hike, he’d be back inside with his book while the rest of us sat around the fire. Good times. 🙂

  3. Too funny, Diane. Isn’t it funny how all those TV commercials make vacationing with your kids look fun?

    This year we probably won’t get a family vacation because everyone is going in a different direction, on their own little vacation. It’s the second year in a row this has happened. We are determined to plan something to do as a family over Christmas, but the kids are already putting up roadblocks. My aunt says they will beg for a family vacation again once they are out of college and can’t really afford a nice trip on their own. 🙂 For now, enjoy them while you’ve got them. At least you have fun stories to laugh about when they are older. Have a great trip!

  4. This is a test to see if I can leave a comment

  5. Aren’t teens fun? O.o

    I have some camping nightmares, but that’s too long a post…lol. My 17 yr old daughter and I will be going to San Antonio in a couple of weeks for a girl trip. I promised her last year that we’d go somewhere…just the two of us…the summer before her senior year, and here we are.

    Really wanted it to be somewhere more major…but money wasn’t there so we are making the 5 hour drive across Texas to San Antonio for a four day girls excursion of shopping and eating and staying in a four star hotel and thinking we’re all that. 🙂

