From a war zone to beauty

We recently underwent a remodel at our house.  Eeek, you say?

Yeah, I say that too.  We do alot of that, and because my husband is a carpenter superstar…we do it ourselves.

We’ve done the bathroom, our bedroom, our daughter’s new bedroom after my son moved out, and last year…the kitchen and dining area.  That one was a major overhaul, because we gutted it, floors, walls, and ceiling.  A sixty year old house has “things” in its sixty year old walls that you don’t necessarily want to see.  But it all came out good.

The last things we had to do was the hallway and the living room.

Our living room was dinky tiny.  A dark cramped place we spent no time in…it was really just a portal to get to the rest of the house. 

After my son moved out, and we decided to move my daughter over to the “bigger” room, it was time to take on that living room.  Which meant knocking out the wall between that room and her old little one, to give us a good sized living room we could enjoy as a family.

 

 

 

 

 

Everyone had jobs…  🙂  

       

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was a work in progress… we had to resheetrock some places left from the missing wall, tape and float and texture the whole room… I was the stomper 😉

Then we had to fill in the hole in the hardwood floor left by the wall.  Then decide how to cover it, because we’d never be able to match up the original floor.  So my husband stripped and sanded the side we kept wood.  And we picked out carpet for the new side, arching it to cover the filled in hole.

And I asked for one thing.  Something I always wanted… a

RED

 ACCENT

WALL.

Here’s the carpet and newly stripped and varnished floor…

(and red wall…squee!!!)

Add some furniture…

End tables and lamps…

And that’s where we are.  Still nothing on the walls yet, as I have to make a Kirklands run, but we love our room and I have my writing space back!  That end of the couch and end table up there????  That’s where I write.

So what about your living space?  Any good remodeling stories?

 

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Lorrie Thomson

    Years ago, my husband attached one end of a rope to our third-floor dormer, the other end to our then house mate Joe’s jeep in the backyard. Then Joe hit the gas.

  2. OMG, Lorrie, I would love to see a picture of the dormer coming down. What an unforgettable memory!

    Sharla, I love the changes you made to your house. It’s great having a carpenter superstar in the family, isn’t it. My husband loves to build, so I’ve done a lot of it, too. In our first house, we finished an unfinished basement, then gutted the upstairs back landing, kitchen, livingroom and front entrance. Then end result was beautiful. And we have now built two houses together, from the ground up, which was totally exhausting, but I learned so much. After the second house, though, I told him that was my limit. Next time, I just want him to hand me the key so I can move in. 🙂

    Enjoy your new room and the return of your writing space!

  3. I can sure relate to your wanting those changes. We added an addition to the back of our house several years ago and I sit on the right side of the couch with my little table beside me and write. It’s called my “area”.
    Congratulations on your re-do.

  4. Christy Hayes

    Love your new addition, Sharla! The red wall suits you perfectly! We did so many renovations on our last house that when we moved, we ended up building from the ground up to get just what we wanted. Living through renovation (especially a kitchen) is hard with kids. Doing it yourself must feel very satisfying. I was convinced the last contractor we had on our renovation house was going to either drive me to the hospital or deliver the baby himself. Thankfully, neither of those scenarios played out!

  5. Love the new room! We are about to undergo major renovations to our bathrooms–mine is always last. 😦 Since my husband is the contractor, it might be handy to have a marriage counselor on speed dial! I’ll let you know how it turns out–in about eight months.

  6. Love the family work aspect. My son helped a friend of mine tear down her kitchen/dining room wall when he was five and let me tell you–giving him a hammer and permission to “hit” was memorable. Absolutely memorable.

  1. Pingback: From a War Zone to beauty… « Sharla Lovelace, Author

