Summer Reads

Okay, so I am totally in summer mode:  I forgot about my blog this week!  Actually, I’ve been doing a lot of writing and got caught up in my current WIP.  Such a great feeling. 🙂 I’ve been carting my laptop or my AlphaSmart to the barn each day.  While my daughter works out with Curious George, I write.

Most of the time.  Except when the other horses are calling me from the pasture to come over and pet them or give them a treat.  Or, when the barn cat isn’t demanding I pet her.  Or, when the rooster isn’t crowing and making me think of heading off to the nearest fried chicken place for a snack.  Yep, I’m being productive.  At the rate I’m going, I’ll be finished by the time school starts again.  (Notice I didn’t say which year.)

It’s been a little easier to write this one out of the office.  That’s probably because when I’m working outside the house, I don’t have the stack of books in the corner of the room calling to me each time I sit down at my desk.  Actually my “to be read” pile is more like a tower than a stack and, right now, it’s roaring at me to open a book.  If there was a chance of chocolate hidden in that pile, I’d be sorely tempted.

Rachel Gibson’s new book, Rescue Me, is screaming at me.  I shouldn’t have read the excerpt, but it was awesome.

Kristin Higgin’s new book, Somebody to Love, is sitting smugly next to the stack because, I must confess, I deviated from my work to sneak that one in.  Hey, she sent me an autographed copy of her previous book so I felt compelled to read this one right away.  So glad I did!

Congratulations to Kristin, by the way, for making the RWA Hall of Fame with this book.  To Jill Shalvis, too, whose latest Lucky Harbor release put her in the Hall of Fame also.  Another, waiting to be read.

Then there are those wonderful historical books I love to read by the pool.  Sarah Mclean’s A Rogue By Any Other Name and Julie Anne Long’s How the Marquess Was Won keep staring me down.   Seriously, I am actually hoping for a little writer’s block to get one of them read.

So what’s on your “to be read list”?  See if you can tempt me!

Oh, and this guy, he’s just for fun–enjoy!!

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on June 8, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. oh gosh – there are so many! My fellow Bellebooks author Kimberly Brock’s book “The River Witch” is on my TBR list, as is another author friend’s book: Glynis Smy’s “Ripper My Love” and the list goes on and on! I am right now reading Chris Rodell’s “Use All The Crayons”–which is a fun and delightful and uplifting read – sometimes I laugh out loud!

  2. Christy Hayes

    I have a bunch of books on my ereader that I’ve downloaded and not read yet. I have to make a dent in them soon! Keep working on that WIP because I want to see how it ends!!

  3. Oh, don’t get me started regarding the TBR pile and NOW I’m creating one on my Nook. And someone just gave me a link to a site that lists books by country and since I love books with an Italian venue……
    Patti

  4. Tracy, I’ve been in writing mode, too, and just about forgot to come here today. But I’m so glad I did because I love Rachel Gibson and Jill Shalvis, and now that I know they both have new books out, I can put them on my summer reading list. 🙂

    I’m actually reading yoga and meditation books right now. I’m on a 40-day yoga kick, which reminds me that I need to get at it or I’ll miss the day and have to start the 40 days over.

    BTW, writing in the barn with the horses and cat and rooster to distract you sounds like the ideal place for inspiration. Here’s to getting that book done by THIS fall!

    • Thanks, Sheila! Enjoy your yoga. I should probably work something like that into my schedule. Right now, all I can manage is a few minutes of stretching after I get of the cardio machines. If there’s a good yoga book for beginner’s you recommend, let me know. 🙂

  5. No 50 shades recommendations?

  6. Whole Latte Life–the fiction winner for the Indie Reader Discovery Awards. Very WF and interesting so far!

