Summer’s Here!

I just saw on the news that Summer is officially here on June 20th. Oh my goodness. And we have no firm plans for our family vacation.For the last two years we rented a house on the Russian River and taken our dogs. But this year we didn’t plan enough ahead, so we won’t be going there. We’re researching homes to rent in the Lake Tahoe or Santa Barbara areas, but many of them have no openings at this point. We’re not leaving California since it’s just too much driving with our two big dogs in the back of the truck and they bark most of the time.

I’m partial to the ocean.  My husband loves lakes and the mountains.  He doesn’t want to drive that far.  I think a six-hour drive to Santa Barbara is no big thing.  Ay-yi-yi!  How will the twain meet?  The kids really don’t care, as long as it’s a “nice place”, they say.  So, do you have any plans for the summer?  Mountains or lakes or ocean?

Posted on June 15, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. yaaay, we do! finally after 15 years of marriage and an 11 and 6 year old we are taking them to a beautiful beach here in Mexico…I’m not one to travel in packs, I enjoy time with my family (children, husband, no covering up cellulite) and it almost backfired because some acquaintances wanted to join us on our trip, honestly I prayed for it not to happen, my husband has had a tough year and we need the time away and bringing along work colleagues wasn’t an option…Thank God it’s only us (jajajaa and the millions of international tourists- thank God for them, my country needs it)…

    • Well, after 15 years of marriage and two children, I hope you have a wonderful trip to Mexico and I’m sure you will, now that it will be just your family and no “outsiders”. Sometimes a family needs to be alone with no extras. I sure can relate to that. This year I’m not sure there’s going to be room where we want to go for the kids to take friends. Would it be so awful if they didn’t? I guess we’ll soon find out.
      Patti

      • Oh yes, I’ve been told by friend with older children that they come to an age where parents are boring and they beg to take friends along, maybe that’ll be the day when my husband and I can again have an uninterrupted conversation, MAYBE!! good luck with your plans and may your vacations be reinvigorating and happy, read you soon, Alexandra

  2. Patti – I love anywhere outdoors, camping where I can fly fish! Don’t you love getting away somewhere so far away(even if it’s close-have you thought of Big Bear?) that you can’t remember what your house looks like?

    No vacation for me, this summer – it’s all about RWA National! I will get away on my annual chicks fly fishing trip in October. This year, in Oregon!

    Now, I just have to survive until then!
    Enjoy!

    • Hey Laura! I love being in new places and relaxing with no ties to the internet (although I find it hard to do that) and being able to ride a kayak down a river or sit and look at the ocean – something to calm my mind. After TWO graduations – my son and daughter – I need to get away and not think about anything!
      You’ll have such a great time in Oregon, fly fishing. That always makes me think of that movie “The River Runs Through It”, right?

  3. This year we are vacationing in our backyard. With our children grown with families of their own, we’ve discovered during our first week of “backyard vacation” in June that staying home and enjoying our yard was really quite pleasant and relaxing. Who knew?

    We grilled something new every night, we had dinner guests during the week, enjoyed wine and conversation on our patio till wee hours of the morning and the best part of all… we had the opportunity to take each of our 3 grandchildren individually on day time excursions.

    We are looking forward to “backyard vacation” week two the first week of July.

    Whatever you decide to do, we hope you have a fun and safe trip!!

    • Your backyard vacation sounds just as relaxing as any others I’ve heard about. Relaxing is what it’s all about anyway and you obviously are able to enjoy a pace that suits you AND you get to have grandchildren over one at a time.
      Enjoy your summer. I hope I do as well.
      Patti

  4. My summer vacation will be spent at the barn! I am sure you can relate, Patti. Both kids have crazy schedules, so hubby and I may slip away mid-week in July to check out a B&B in Asheville, NC. It’s a working trip since I’m using the inn as the location for a series of books I’m currently writing. We are planning a vacation during the holidays for the whole family, though. Some place tropical, I think. 🙂

    • Oooh, a B&B in Asheville? That sounds fun. We haven’t gotten away by ourselves in ages. I’d love to read a book set at a B&B – good choice for a venue, Tracy. And a tropical holiday with the family would be fantastic.

  5. I don’t think my husband and I have ever gone on vacation during the summer! Like most Canadians we wait until the bad weather hits and then head somewhere warmer! Most of our travel happens between October and May. My preference is for ocean vacations. Preferably staying at a tropical resort. Oops I just remembered we took a vacation for one week mid-June 2009 – a 7 day inside passage cruise from Vancouver to Alaska and back again, stopping in Juneau, Skagway, and Ketchikan and cruising through Tracy Arm and Glacier Bay. But I guess we returned home one day before summer officially arrived!

    • I didn’t know that Canadians were “snow birds”. My sister-in-law lives in B.C. and though it snows sometimes in the winter, she said the weather there is pretty mild. But that’s only a very small part of Canada. I would imagine it can get pretty darn cold in the winters.

  6. Beach, mountains, beach, mountains–that would be my ultimate vacation!

  7. Now that our kids are grown up, we plan our vacations for June or Sept or Oct, and sometimes we get away all three of those months. 🙂

    Our favorite vacation spot is Banff, in the Rocky Mountains of Alberta. We also love to head out to the coast and love Brentwood Bay on Vancouver Island. It’s quiet, peaceful, and they give great massages at their spa!

  8. Patti, I live near the ocean and instead of planning a “vacation” a friend and I are planning some two day jaunts up the east coast of Florida. I am using the excuse of “research” for a book … but any reason would do 🙂

    Enjoy whatever you decide to do !!

  9. Hi Patricia
    It is now officially winter here in Australia.(Double yuk!)
    But for me.. the ocean wins out every vacation!
    Annie

    • Whoa, Annie, I didn’t realize it’s winter in Australia. I’m geographically challenged, if you will, so forgive me. It’s funny how, although I live on the coast, I still prefer vacations on the coast!

