Stealth mission needed…

I have to ‘fess up.  I love dogs and like cats, and am basically an animal lover in general.  Rarely will I pass up a chance to pet something furry, and baby-anythings just do me in completely. 

My old lady dog, Ruby…proof of my love…

However…

I’ll refrain from posting a picture of what has become the bain of my existence lately.  🙂

Something…some sweet little something…is leaving presents on my front porch.  Every day.  Every single solitary day, I get a new smelly pile, not in the yard–not on the sidewalk–RIGHT smack in front of my front door.

People not thinking to look down as they leave by way of the front door, step right in it.  Even better, they step in it as they are walking IN, unaware of what just transpired.  I’m thinking, why on earth do these people smell so bad? 

My happiness runneth over.

And the thing is, I can’t figure it out!  I never hear it outside my door, I’m never there to catch it.  Old Lady Dog, Ruby, doesn’t hear or smell much anymore, so unless it’s the mailman invading the house by sliding paper things through the slot in the wall, thereby sending her into a viscious frenzy, she isn’t aware of it. 

My neighborhood does lend itself to strays, but this is a repeat offender.  This is no passing happenstance of a free-faring Fido.  My porch has a kind of railing around it, you have to walk around to enter it, and it dead ends there.  You have to then turn around to walk out.  Something is making the conscious choice to make the effort.

Why?  Because the large lush green front yard it has to stroll through to get to the hot hard concrete porch isn’t tweaking its little urges?

It’s taunting me.   I’ll keep you updated.  🙂

Ommmm… Ommmm…

 

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Dang! That sounds so – intentional! Very weird . . . !

  2. First thought, set up a video camera. Second thought, this could be the start of a great story. (Had that thought?)

    • You know, since you said that, I think I totally have to use it. LOL. Don’t be surprised when one of my books or novellas end up with this happening to someone as an opening scene. 🙂

  3. Too funny. Through all my years of living with dogs, I’ve learned they very smart, and can absolutely intentionally have a bit of “fun” with you. 🙂

  4. Time to get covert! Find a nanny cam and set it up. Someone is “messing” with you.

  5. I’m with Tracy. Get a camera and catch the offender.

  6. How irritating! I’d go the camera route, as Christy said, so that you’ll finally catch whoever (whatever) it is! Good luck with that.
    Patti

  7. Yall are cracking me up with the nanny cam ideas. 😀

  8. One of our neighborhood cats keeps peeing on our front AND back screen doors. As if that isn’t enough, the **** cat also pees on the flower pots we have on the veranda. I feel your pain and frustration, Sharla. If that nanny cam works for you, let me know! 🙂

  9. I’ve got a spare surveillance video camera you’re welcome to – you can get reception on your tv. Used it in the neighborhood where we used to live to keep an eye on the 2-legged vandals that lived next door. Works great!

  1. Pingback: Stealth mission needed… « Sharla Lovelace, Author

