When Thunder Rolls

Last night, we had a series of thunder storms pass through our area. In the middle of the night, we stood on our roof covered deck while lightning flashed around us and thunder boomed in our ears.

I don’t recall having storms like this when I was a kid. But ever since a tornado swept through our area in 1987, killing 37 people, injuring hundreds more, my awareness of storms has increased.

And I’m fascinated by them. On hot humid days like yesterday, I check the Weather Network because they almost always have a weather warning in place. And then I watch the sky.

Crazy storms like last night’s make my heart pound and my stomach churn. The lightning flashed like those disco strobe lights from the 80’s, blinding if you looked at it, impossible to avoid. It flashed so often and so quick, there was no time to close my eyes or look away. It rained so hard, it pounded on the rooftop like hail, while water filled the gentle curves and valleys on our property.

We stood there for nearly an hour, spellbound by the powerful, dangerous storm. Across the farmer’s field, two power transformers blew. The shockwave from a boom of thunder set off our neighbor’s car alarm, his headlights flashing on and off in the distance, the alarm barely distinguishable over the sound of the storm. A few minutes later, another shockwave turned on the light on our automatic garage door opener which was inside the closed garage.

After the storm blasted through, we climbed back into bed. Lightning flashed in the distance and thunder rumbled through the open bedroom window, bringing with it a cool breeze on my face. It was cozy and peaceful and put me to sleep.

Since ’87, we’ve had numerous tornadoes rip across the Canadian prairies, some with deadly consequences, others with only property damage. But when the threat of one is in the air, am I smart enough to stay indoors or hide in the basement? Apparently not.

How about you? What dangerous thing fascinates you more than it terrifies you?

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I’m with you, Sheila. I love a good storm, although it seems they get more and more destructive as the years go by. I love the detail with which you described the storm. I felt like I was on your deck with you!

  2. What scares me is that people think that because they are under a roof on a porch, they are safe from lightning. One summer, several college students in Louisiana were killed during in a thunderstorm because they took shelter under a covered walkway next to a library and not inside the library.

    • It’s definitely one of the things I think about when I’m on the deck during a storm, especially one with this much lightning. I’m not a brave person by any means — definitely not a risktaker — and yet I push thoughts of being hit by lighning away as though the likelihood is near impossible. I know it’s not. 🙂

  3. Count me as a storm watcher, too. Yours was scary, Sheila! I’ve seen transformers blow but didn’t know a shockwave could turn on a garage door-opener’s light. (I’m guessing there’s a mechanism in place that prevents a shockwave from causing a garage-door opener to lift the door. Otherwise, I’ve got one more thing to worry about.)

  4. I’m not sure what actually turned on the garage door opener’s light but it was weird how it all happened in sequence. Storms are amazing. 🙂

  5. Hmm, that’s a good question. I’m usually fascinated by things I’m afraid of like sharks, but not to the point that I’d want to swim with them. I just like watching shark week 🙂 But I do like the air outside after a storm passes!

    • Sharks terrify me, Coleen, even on TV. On the rare occasion when I’m near enough the ocean to go for a swim, I try not to think of them while I’m in the water. I guess I’ve watched too many shark movies. LOL 🙂

  6. Sheila, I grew up in a place where weather just happened every day … no drama. I retired to a place where weather is the first item on every news broadcast. It’s called the lightening capital of the country and lives up to the name. It’s hurracaines and thunder storms, tropical depressions and storm warnings … Love rain and lightening at night … the patterns excite me. The prospects of a category 2 or above however does not. Me? I drove through Wilma and wondered why everyone was so surprised when I showed up 🙂

  7. You’re a brave woman, Florence. I would’ve holed up in a hotel and watched Wilma blow by. 🙂 BTW, I love your first line “…where weather just happened every day…”. That’s an interesting way to look at what happens with how people react to weather. Thanks for popping by!

  1. Pingback: When Thunder Rolls | Sheila Seabrook

