Fifty Shad………

I’ll bet a million bucks that you know exactly how to finish the above title.  Did you think, “Fifty Shades of Grey”?  Then you’d be right.  And I hesitated to write this post today but, sorry, my interest got the best of me.

Sounds cliche’, but I’m dying to read your comments.  Has anyone read this book?  And, if so, what is it about?  I haven’t seen any reviews but one.  And that was a completely hysterical negative review that I enjoyed reading.  It didn’t make me want to read the book.  It was just very funny.  I don’t read erotic romance.  But maybe it’s not erotic romance anyway.   There’s nothing wrong with erotic romance.  I just don’t read it.  I don’t read biographies either, but I sure am glad someone writes them.  However, it’s not one of my favorite genres.

What I got out of the humorously negative review was that it portrays women in a negative light through the use of sadism and violence.  That’s why I am not interested in reading it.  But is that true?

Comments?

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I haven’t read it, either.

  2. When I saw the phrase “Fifty-shad” I thought you were going to talk about a fish wholesaler. But as far as the book “Fifty Shades of Grey” is concerned, it’s dirty book, plain and simple. In fact it’s a kinky dirty book, all beating and spanking and stuff like that. But it’a a pretty good read … not saying it’s great writing, but it grabs you. I’ve only read the first of the three, but the second is waiting for me to go pick it up at the library today …

  3. Me neither, but I’ve heard the same comments.

  4. I am in the process of reading it right now. So far it has not grabbed me, or I would have finished it by now. I wouldn’t call it a dirty book. It is erotic romance (which I read and I write) and in my opinion, erotic romance is not “dirty.” It’s a particular genre, and it’s not to everyone’s tastes, which is fine. As for 50 Shades, I will never belittle another author’s work publicly. As an author myself, I know how much that hurts. Suffice it to say, the author wrote an interesting (though not riveting, in my opinion) book and hit the jackpot — the jackpot all authors seek. It’s the luck of the draw. If any author knew what makes a book go viral, we’d all be best-selling millionaires.

  5. I’m reading it and for the most part haven’t been particularly impressed. I prefer someone like Harold Robbins or Jacquie Collins, who can combine erotic fiction with a plot and characters who have some depth. But who can argue with success?

  6. Oh so funny! I read numerous serious reviews and laughed as reviewer after reviewer danced all around the issue of the quality of the writing! So, I read the first couple of pages on Amazon and thought “what’s all the fuss about? This is a newbie who struck a chord with her readers”. I won’t read it but obviously many have and will then see the movie. I read some other posts – one great one said that if the girl “hitched” her breath any more she’d pass out from lack of oxygen! Interesting thing is, everyone remembers the title but who remembers the name of the author???

  7. It is Twilight fanfiction that Ms James literally did a find and replace on to change the names and then vanity published with an Australian publisher. I’m not sure how it got picked up by a major publisher, but shame on them for not even bothering to edit it – all of the grammar and punctuation errors that were in the fanfiction version are in the published one. It’s about a sheltered virgin who is suddenly and inexplicably okay with an intensely BDSM relationship which is, by the way, portrayed in such an incorrect way as to be dangerous. My therapist told me he read a review in which a gynecologist said that some of what was described was actually physically dangerous.

    This Goodreads review – http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/340987215 – is hilarious and detailed at the same time.This one discussing the potential movie – http://screencrush.com/50-shades-of-grey-movie/ – explains a lot of why it’s so bad. It isn’t just the bad writing, which is indisputable. There are intrinsic problems with the world it presents.

  8. No, I haven’t read it yet, Patti. Probably never will.

  9. Nope. I feel like the only person on the planet who hasn’t read it!

  10. Patti – Haven’t read and needless to say – won’t review.

  11. I join the main chorus, Patti … haven’t read … will not read 🙂

  12. Donna Coe-Velleman

    I was going to read it until I read a couple of reviews. Now I have no interest in it.

  13. I haven’t read it either.

  14. A friend of mine asked me to read of couple of pages for my opinion, but once the ni@#le clips went on I had to stop. OUCH!

    Not for me…

