How Do You Connect?

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been working on reaching out to my readers.  But outside Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, blogs and book signings, I’m wondering where to go next.  Where do authors and readers connect?  Online?  At book club meetings? 

Where do readers want to connect?  How do they want to connect?  Do they want bookmarks, recipe cards, swag of all sorts?  Do they want signed books, personal meetings, interesting tidbits of information gained via newsletters?  Maybe connecting isn’t as key as enjoying a good book.  Authors write, readers read.

But readers are my lifeblood as an author.  I write for myself, but I write for my readers, too, and I want to know what they want, what they care about…  I don’t want to waste their time.  So I’m asking, as writers, has there been an exceptionally wonderful way you’ve connected with your readers?

And readers, how about you?  What would you love to see from your favorite authors?  Inquiring minds want to know!  At least this inquiring mind, anyway.

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Let me know when you figure this one out , Dianne!

  2. Me too! I do subscribe to newsletters from several of my favorite authors, though. I’ve won signed books and ARCs several times which is fun. 🙂

  3. I wish I knew the answer. Although in my reader role, I don’t usually connect with authors. I read their work. I usually find new authors through free reads (authorised) or discount books. None of the other promo methods have ever worked for me.

  4. Like Tracy, I love author newsletters. It helps me keep up to date on the important stuff without taking the time to constantly be checking their blog or website.

  5. Alysha–No effective promo? Back to the storyboard! 🙂

    Sheila–A newsletter is definitely on my horizon!

