Fall Is Almost Here

I always use the term “Fall” when referring to the season of the year that begins this Saturday, September 22nd. However, on the news they call it “Autumn”. To me, that’s a much more beautiful word, but I don’t know why.

When I looked up the word “autumn” in Wikipedia it says:

“Before the 16th century, harvest was the term usually used to refer to the season, as it is common in other West Germanic languages to this day (cf. Dutch herfst and German Herbst). However, as more people gradually moved from working the land to living in towns (especially those who could read and write, the only people whose use of language we now know), the word harvest lost its reference to the time of year and came to refer only to the actual activity of reaping, and autumn, as well as fall, began to replace it as a reference to the season.”

Whatever you personally call that time of year, it can be beautiful. The heat of the day is gone but we’re left with a lovely warmth to take the chill off in the afternoons. Mornings are cold and we don our light jackets and wear long pants. Here on the coast of California, the seasons aren’t as drastically different from each other as they are in other places. It’s still in the 60’s in the afternoons and I can sit outside and it gets hot out on the deck.

Being that I hate Winter, I enjoy this temperate climate.  How about where you live?

Posted on September 21, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Fall is my favorite season. I relish the chill in the air and the changing leaves. I’m headed up the canyon this week to enjoy.
    Thank you for the info on the harvest. I harvested my concord grapes this week and made grape juice. Nothing better.

    • Wow, Sandy! I’ve never known anyone who has made their own grape juice! How cool. I’m assuming, then, that you don’t have to go through all kinds of fancy processing? It’s more of a “squeeze and get rid of the skins” sort of thing?

  2. Here in the south, fall is a wonderful time of cooler mornings and evenings (at last) and usually a long stretch of changing leaf colors. The official beginning to fall in the south is the beginning of college football season. Fortunately, the fall began a few weeks ago 🙂

  3. I work outside. Fall means two things – no more bike patrol and cold water down the back of my neck. Did I also mention wet feet? When our daughter lived in Florida at least I had refuge!

  4. Hi, Patti. Such a good topic for today. The temperature is so much cooler and everything looks crisp and new. The sunset last night was so awesome, the kid in the car next to mine took a picture. A huge red orange ball. I love fall and opening the back door, the mosquitoes going away (a challenge this year with West Nile). Cold? Not so much. Thank goodness for Ugg boots.

    • I hear ya’ about the Ugg boots. I got a pair about a year ago and they work so well in keeping any cold out. That’s all we’re hearing about here on the news as well – the West Nile virus. Every year it seems there’s some sort of scary thing that they’re spraying for or vaccinating for.

  5. We’re having a beautiful September, Patti, with temperatures hovering around 70 degrees during the day. While we have had frost twice this week, the rest of the night time lows have been above the freezing point. Our trees have slowly been turning color and while they are gorgeous, in my area we mostly have yellow and very little orange and almost no red. The red and orange really make things beautiful, like your picture of the vineyard. 🙂

  6. Yes to fall and yes to winter. I’ve never been a lover of summer – not even as a kid. I love spring as that’s when I start working in my gardens but give me fall and winter anytime. I love everything about the season.

    • I think, Sheri, that you’ve lived in some places with hot, hot summers so I can understand why you wouldn’t enjoy them. I recall the coldest winter I ever experienced was a summer in Carmel! And I love the Monterey Bay peninsula.

  7. Patti, since I am a September baby, my favorite season has always been autumn. Apple picking,the hills alive with color and a nip in the air.

    Not the seasons melt into each other, but I still love this time of year 🙂 I’m with you on winter … burrrr !!

  8. Fall is my favorite season, too. Of course, as I type this at 7:00 p.m. it’s still in the high 80s. And the low tonight is only in the mid-60s. They made a mistake when they named this place Texas. They should have called it New Hades.

  9. I love living in a place with all four seasons. always an adventure.

  10. Donna Coe-Velleman

    Autumn is my second favorite season, spring is my first choice. Love the air, the colors, the crisp coolness, the pumpkin picking. Well you get the idea

  11. Definitely my favorite season!!

