Calling All Gardeners!

It’s fall garden season here in Florida and not a moment too soon, if you ask me.  The temperatures are cooling (sort of) and the humidity is easing.  Why this morning it was downright pleasant as I strolled the rows of my budding beds.  Ahhh….

Though it only takes a minute to kick me right out of relaxation mode — and I’m not talking about weeding or watering, but the bugs.  Those varmints are devouring my tiny blossoms!  They lurk beneath the leaves when I pass only to gobble them up when I’m gone.  I’m sure the swamp behind my house has nothing to do with their presence.  Haven to a mass of blind mosquitoes (speaking of cooler temps, can’t wait for the first freeze), it also provides shelter for the crickets and moths.

UGH.  A little insecticidal soap and those beasts should be dissuaded from ravaging my plants.  But all in all, my babies are doing well.  In the photo below, you may see kidney bean plants, but I see comfort food chili in my future.

As you can see, squash and zucchini look good.

In addition to these, I have peppers, tomatoes, pumpkins, cucumbers, okra, carrots, lettuce, brussels, broccoli and cabbage in ground.  So that’s what I do in the fall when I’m not writing or chasing kids.  How about you?

Posted on September 24, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Gardening is one of those things that I like in theory, but not in practice. I admire your hard work and dedication to this challenge. I understand gardening is addictive, rewarding, and relaxing. It’s nice that you’ve found an activity that gives you such pleasure and rewards you with veggies!

    My guilty pleasure is exercise. I know that sounds crazy, but I love it and find it eases my nervous hands and feet and helps me concentrate. I get healthy, but I don’t put food on the table!

  2. My mom is an avid gardener, Diane. She is happiest during the spring, summer and fall, when she can be outside digging in the soil and watching her produce grow. She always saves seeds from the vegetables so that she can start next year’s crop in the house during early spring. All of her plants are so healthy and strong.

    The pictures look great!

  3. I haven’t seen such a large and prosperous-looking garden in my life. I wish I could do that. We used to have a huge yard and then we built on to the back of the house and then added a deck then stamped concrete, so we’re down to no dirt at all. I miss being able to have even the small garden we used to have “in the olden days”.

    • I must confess, I enjoy just walking the rows and admiring the plants. Seeing the lush growth fills me with content. But I bet your patio is totally relaxing!

  4. Wow, Diane, your garden is amazing. My guilty pleasure is baking. I could make a lot of zucchini bread with your bounty. 🙂

  5. Wish you could! 🙂 *YUM*

