Random chaos and Japanese Cherry Blossom lotion

In the spirit of the momentum I’m living right now, I’m opening the door and inviting you all inside the chaos of my thoughts.

Fair warning, it’s crazy in there.

Deep breath…

My novella JUST ONE DAY just went live at Barnes & Noble,

and I’m trying to figure out how to drive traffic to it and possibly get reviews and possibly get more readers while setting up further promo going for BEFORE AND EVER SINCE

which comes out November 6th.  I have to set up a blog tour and Twitter party for release day, which I’ve kinda sorta done.  By that, I mean I’ve contacted the lady and asked just enough questions to thoroughly confuse and overwhelm myself, and now she waits for all my wisdom-filled answers that I honestly do not have and am too chicken to admit.

I’m supposed to be working on my next novel-slash-possible-series but the push and pull of the novella have split my brain into too many sections.  My daughter is a senior in high school and fighting grades and the teenage drama of her life, while I’m trying to go to everything, be everything she needs, help my husband run his cockatiel aviary and go to bird shows with him.  Which is cool because he goes to signings with me, too.  🙂   And now I just found out that my daughter needs all –yes, all–her wisdom teeth pulled.  Before Christmas.  Because, hey, why the heck not.  We have nothing else interesting going on.  I haven’t looked at the possibility of Christmas gifts yet, and I’m wondering if a giant buy of lotion at Bath & Body will cover everyone on my list.  I mean, my husband might not appreciate it, but he’d smell good, right?

Oh, and my job.

Every day, there’s that.  I mean, thank God, every day there’s that.  But yanno.

Deep breath!!!

Okay, I feel better.  I’ve been looking for a way to just let all that out!  LOL!!

So…let me in on YOUR inner chaos.  What’s going on with you?

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on September 26, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Sharla, deep breathing helps, but not much 🙂 You are living your dream and contrary to what some might think … you have it all in the palm of your hands … like a magic orb. The job, the family and a writing career. Use the orb to imagine the day, the writing career displaces the day job because with your talent and determination, I truly believe that is going to happen 🙂 Look forward to reading both your new selections !!

  2. I’m feelin’ it here too Sharla! Edits, proposals and drafts all due at the same time. And, those pesky kids keep getting in the way. Balance is the key. Or, singing Kelly Clarkson’s What Doesn’t Kill You, Makes You Stronger really loudly. 🙂 Hang in!

  3. Just don’t burn out, Sharla. I understand the pressure and the need to do-it-all. How did the women of our generation allow ourselves to get to the point where we must do it all? It’s unhealthy and burnout is no fun. It takes years to recoop from it. I know, I’ve been there, done that and I’m never going there again. And yet we do. Maybe women are closet sadists and we love to torture ourselves. I repeat: Just don’t burn yourself out!

    • Thank you, Sheila, I won’t. LOL…I don’t think. Just so many crazies right now…I seriously fantasize of cloning. That would solve sooooo many things. But other than the normal life craziness that everyone has, I know I’m blessed to have the author-crazy part of it. Like Florence said, it’s living the dream…my version of that dream just tended to have a little less activity in it. LOL.

  4. Don’t forget to enjoy these times. When your daughter is off in the Navy, you’ll miss the craziness of her being underfoot every day. When you’re not on deadline and looking ahead to promotion, you’ll wonder what was so bad about this time. When your husband goes to his events alone, you’ll wish he was still asking you to join him. Break everything down into manageable bits and do one thing at a time. You are so blessed! For some reason, when we are given so much of what we ask for, we tend not to appreciate our blessings. Focus on the good and everything else will take care of itself. Congratulations!!

