Let’s Hear It For the Teachers!

School is back in session and we are finally settling into a routine at Camp Solheim.  It didn’t take as much time for my daughter to adjust to high school as I anticipated, thanks in part to some great teachers.  I am in awe of the people who choose a career in education.  It’s the most underrated and underpaid profession I know of.  Yet, these folks spend as many waking hours of the day with our kids as we do.  I envy their dedication—and patience.   Definitely something I lack.

My kids have been blessed with some amazing educators who’ve molded their mushy minds into maturity.  Have they all been perfect?  No.  But life isn’t perfect and the sooner my kids get that through their noggins, the better.  But they have encountered some rare jewels who’ve left a lasting impression on both my kids and me.  I’m a thankful parent this week that one particular teacher took the time to point out my child may not be as careless as we suspected, just battling a previously undetected glitch in processing written information.  It’s nice to know someone really cares about the success of their students.

I don’t remember too many of my teachers.  My family moved around a lot, so they passed through my life for the year or so I lived in one place and then were forgotten.  So, when my kids ask who my favorite teacher was, I don’t have a ready answer.  There were a few teachers in high school whose names I still remember after 30 years.  Mr. Frieberger taught World History and Sociology, both classes I enjoyed a lot.  It was the late 1970’s and Mr. F. was cool with long hair, a beard and those John Lennon glasses.  Jimmy Carter was president at the time and the Middle East Peace Talks were in full swing.  We had our own summit in class one week.  I was Yasser Arafat complete with full head gear that Mr. F. made from a table cloth.  He made sure we all took are roles seriously and I think, at the time, we foolishly believed we could settle the Middle East situation ourselves.

Junior year, Mr. Frieberger taught Sociology.  One of the segments of class was on marriage and family.  We each had to be paired up with a “spouse” to raise a baby (a sack of flour we carried around) and develop a family budget.  Don’t ask me who my first husband was, I don’t remember that far back.  But, we did have a big wedding in the class.  One couple got to be the bride and groom and the rest of us were attendants.  I found pictures the other day of us all in various prom dresses and the boys in jackets and ties.  It looked like we were having a good time.  I’m pretty sure it was just an excuse to have a party in class.  Mr. F. liked a good party at the end of the day.

Do you remember any of your favorite teachers?  Did any of them have profound influence on you?  Have you seen any of your teachers later in life?

And, I’d like to give a big heartfelt thank you to all those teachers out there!

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on September 28, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. My favorite teacher was a journalism professor in college who pushed me very hard and I didn’t like him much at the time. Looking back, I realized how much I improved as a writer under his tutelage. He passed a short time later and I was never able to say thanks.

    My kids are blessed to have extraordinary teachers in their lives and I’m grateful for them daily.

    • I had a college journalism professor who scared me every class, Dr. Anna Paddon. She was big on what she called gross factual errors which could include grammatical mistakes. Each GFE resulted in a reduction of you grade by two letter grades! You can bet I learned my lesson after the first mistake. While she was tough, it’s a skill that’s stuck with me and definitely made me a better auditor and writer.

  2. Susan is the keeper of high school memories. I have the CRS. I am also in awe of teachers. Have a great weekend. We can process our teens processing in about a month!!!

  3. My grade one teacher, Mrs. Bilou, sticks out in my mind. I’m not sure why. Maybe it was because my first day of school, I ended up in a second grade class. No one realized I was in the wrong class till it was time for a spelling class. Mrs. Bilou must have rescued me from the embarrassment of not being able to spell and brought me into her grade one class where I belonged. 🙂

    I do remember some of the wonderful teachers who taught my boys. They loved their work and their students and it showed in so many ways and because they cared, my boys cared too.

  4. I remember when I was in kindergarten the teacher selected instruments for each student to play. And she gave me the TRIANGLE. I felt so stupid and thought the triangle was completely dorky. And it made ME feel like a dork. I mean, who couldn’t play the darn triangle? It took no skill. At least that’s what I thought at the time.

