The New Fall Line-Up

No, I’m not talking fashion here.  I’m referring to the books we’re all reading right now.  It’s been awhile since I’ve put this out there, but I want to know what one book you’re reading or just read that you’d recommend and why.

Right now I’m in the middle of Barbara Freethy’s Wish series.  I discovered Barbara’s books several months ago and I’m in love with every single one of them.  The Wish series is just fun to read.  There’s a bit of romance, a little intrigue, and a happy ending overall.  Her books are those I enjoy reading either sitting outside in the sun with my feet up or lounging on the couch under my favorite “blankie”.

What are you reading right now and why do you enjoy it?

Thanks.

Posted on October 5, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. He’s a Magic Man, by Susan Squires. 2nd in the Children of Merlin series. She’s SO great at suspending disbelief – I highly recommend her books!

  2. I just finished reading Tales From The Mist, an anthology by several indie authors. It’s spooky and creepy and downright perfect for the upcoming Halloween season. Not my usual taste in books but every once in a while, I need some thrills and chills. 🙂

  3. Tina Fey’s Bossypants. LOVE IT. I snort out loud on the train as I read.

  4. I’m reading book 2 of the Game of thrones. It’s also an HBO series. I’m also watching season 1 on netflicks which follows the book acurately. I’m addicted!

  5. Right now I’m in the middle of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, which is a must read for any fantasy reader. I love it because of the complexity of the plotting and the worldbuilding, but I especially love it because he’s not afraid to kill anyone, no matter how much you like them–I was (and still am) really disappointed when J.K. Rowling didn’t kill Harry Potter, so it’s comforting to know that George R. R. Martin won’t be sparing anyone who really needs to die.

    That said, if there’s even the sneakiest, dirtiest, most underhanded way for them to live, they usually will. I love it!

  6. Patti – Must you ask, my friend. I’ve just finished Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta (and no it’s not about food), Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews, and Book Lover by Maryann McFadden. All are excellent reads. Last night I finished The Bungalow by Sarah Jio and today I hope to start Wallflower by Claire Cook. They all have excellent reading points and for anyone writing and promoting indi books, I highly recommend The Book Lover by Maryann McFadden. Not only is she an excellent storyteller but she dishes out the inside scoop on how to survive.

    • Man, Sheri, you are such a prolific reader, I am amazed. I do not work out of the home and yet I don’t have time to fit in the number of books you’re reading. Holy tomoly! Thanks for telling us about all of these novels.

  7. Gone Girl–it was fabulous. The writing was brilliant. I’m starting to get hooked on thrillers, but the problem is, I have to finish the book all in one sitting:)

