Readers Say The Darnedest Things!

Every once in awhile, I’m blessed to receive a comment from a reader through the contact page on my website (www.christyhayes.com). I have a static website which means I don’t go there very often other than to update my books page when I have a new book coming out.

My most recent comment came from a man who identified himself as a married gentleman in his fifties with three sons. He downloaded one of my books because of the cover and, let’s face it, the price—it’s the one book I have permanently free on pretty much every online retailer but Barnes & Noble. He said he was pleasantly surprised to find that he enjoyed the book despite the fact that he was reading what he termed the book version of a “chick flick.”

Dodge the BulletI loved his comment and was so thrilled to find it in my inbox. I wish I could express to this man how much I appreciated his compliment. The components that make up a good chick flick are the same components that make up an entertaining novel—empathetic characters, an engaging plot, and a satisfying ending. I wonder if this man also enjoys watching a chick flick as much as my very manly husband.

This is what I love about reading outside my genre. Mostly through my book club, I discover authors and genres and books that I never would have considered reading if not for the peer pressure of finishing the book by the time of our monthly meeting. I’ve read memoirs, non-fiction, mysteries, and literary fiction that I would never have picked up off the virtual shelf if not forced to by someone else’s choice.

What about you, readers of women unplugged? Have you ever read a book and been surprised that you enjoyed a genre you didn’t think you’d like?

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on October 15, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I read almost exclusively women’s fiction along with contemporary fiction (think Nicholas Sparks and Richard Paul Evans), but because once I love an author I will read all their books, I purchased Michael Vey. I guess you’d call it YA science fiction, though I’m not sure. I loved it. I don’t buy sci fi, but it’s all in who’s writing it.

  2. Yes, I have! My book club is dabbling in thrillers right now. I love them, but they make me crazy because I can’t sleep until I know “who done it”! Sometimes, I still can’t sleep after I get to the end. 🙂 I admire the talent it takes to craft a good thriller. Lately, I’ve seen a few plot twists that might even work in my own books–with less gore, of course.

  3. First, congratulations on receiving such a wonderful letter, Christy! I have Dodge the Bullet on my TBR pile. I must get to it. 🙂

    I read Hollowland last year and was so surprised by how much I loved the book. I’m not sure, is it classified as young adult or horror fiction? I’m guessing it fits under both categories and it’s the zombies in the book that I didn’t think I’d like. And I just finished reading a horror anthology. Again, surprise! I loved the stories and have discovered that though I can’t watch a horror film, apparently books in the genre are a totally different animal.

  4. I’ve never read horror, Sheila. Like you, I can’t watch a horror film so I assume I’d hate a horror novel. I suppose I’ll have to give it a try…

  5. I read a little of everything, and of course I have my favorite genres. However, I was really surprised by how much I like Urban Fantasy. Who knew? Congrats on getting such a wonderful letter from a fan!

  6. Definitely! I recently read a friend’s book only because she was a friend…lol. It’s an erotica book and I never thought I’d like that but I was shocked to find that hers was awesome! Wasn’t all about that, there was an amazing story, witty dialogue, and I will definitely read more of her! Roni Loren, in case you feel adventurous! 🙂

  7. And this book looks good, Christy…I just downloaded it to my Nook. 🙂 It may be next year before I have time to read it…but it’s there! LOL

  8. I read my friend’s urban fantasy romance TAB BENNETT AND THE INBETWEEN, was totally hooked, and berated her until she let me read book 2 in the series. I knew I would like the writing but was super surprised I liked the genre. It’s pretty awesome!
    http://www.amazon.com/Bennett-Inbetween-Princess-Twilight-ebook/dp/B007Z8X7Y6/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1350427095&sr=1-1&keywords=tab+bennett+and+the+inbetween

    • Love the cover, Kim. I’ve never read urban fantasy, but I do love a romance. The TBR pile is growing!

  9. Christy–being friends with other indie authors has helped me to branch out and read books I normally wouldn’t have read. I’ve been very pleasantly surprised and will continue to expand my horizons. Congrats on your most recent ‘chick flick’ book!

    • Thanks, Stacey! Yes, I’ve read quite a few indie books that have opened my eyes to new genres. So great to see you here!

