Pretending

I never know what should go into a first official post. Do I tell you about myself? Act as if you already know me? Can I pretend I’m someone I’m not and tell a tale?

Ooh, I like that last option.

‘Sup? I’m Franco. I’m a big male with a bigger head and large muscles. I cook for a living, eat in my spare time, and I like to play football in the park when it’s dark. I live in a five-star hotel (because my family owns it, and I’m a sous chef in the kitchen), and my girlfriend Rita is the hot little maid from the fourth floor. I’m gonna propose. Got it planned for her birthday next month, and she . . .

Not Franco

Okay, in truth:

I’m Janna. I’m a modest word nerd with more shoes than muscles, I live in a comfortable apartment that vacillates between tidy and explosive, and I don’t like sports. I’m a single mom, a writer, editor, and all those other typical things: daughter, sister, friend, wannabe philosopher, arachnophobe.

I was invited to join Women Unplugged by Sharla, and I’m so pleased to be here. I look forward to sharing my thoughts and life with you, making new connections, and maybe, once in a while, pretending. (I’ll be a Wednesday poster, but since Dianne is away today, I thought I’d hop in to say hello.)

Thanks so much for having me!

About Janna

writer, editor, marketing assistant, resume consultant, mom, wannabe philosopher, advocate, and possibilitarian / you can call me Janna

Posted on October 22, 2012, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Welcome, fellow arachnophobe! I look forward to reading your future posts and perhaps finding out what happens to Franco and the maid!
    Patti

  2. Hi Janna, welcome! Nice post.

  3. Welcome, Janna! So glad to have you blogging with us. 🙂

  4. Does this mean you’renot Franco?

  5. Welcome, Janna! Hopefully Franco is a character in a book you’re writing because I’d love to hear more. 🙂

  6. So thrilled to have you here, Janna! You can pretend if you want to, but I’m pretty sure the real you is way more interesting!

  7. Welcome to the Women Unplugged blog, Janna. We’re all so excited to have you join us here. Franco is welcome anytime too. It might be good to have a man’s opinion around here once in a while … although tell him while we might let him have an opinion, we probably won’t listen to it. Just saying… 🙂

  8. Didn’t make it by yesterday, but wanted to come say WELCOME!!!! So excited you are here my friend! I miss your bloggity self! So see, I was selfish, bringing you here. Had to do something major to get to talk to you! LOL! Love Franco, by the way. I think he needs to spout some opinions now and then. 🙂

    • Thanks, Sharla. You make me feel good! 🙂 I’ll see if I can convince Franco to pop in every once in a while…

