The Soundtrack of Our Lives

A Facebook friend posted something the other day that generated quite a few comments and lots of memories.  It had to do with music.  As I think I’ve already pointed out, I am huge music lover.  Everyone in my family will walk into a room and the first thing they do is turn on the television.  Not me; my iPod is the first thing I reach for.  I do some of my best scene development while listening to music.  Unfortunately, I’m usually ironing or on the treadmill so those scenes sometimes get lost before I can reach a computer.  But, trust me, they were amazing. 🙂

Back to my friend’s question. She asked what was the last record (album or cd, I didn’t know people still called them records any more) that you would listen to the whole way through without skipping a track?  The answers were pretty interesting.  They ranged from heavy metal to movie soundtracks.  Of course, I answered—what else—Bruce Springsteen’s Born to Run.  It was the first thing that popped into my head.

But then I got to thinking, what if I could name more than one?  Well, my list would be as eclectic as my iPod.  For my second choice, I’d have to go with Prince and Purple Rain(Springsteen’s Darkness on the Edge of Town would be a close tie with Born to Run just in case you were worried I’d slipped a little.)  Van Morrison would get a nod for his Best of album.  The Talking Heads with Stop Making Sense would be on the list.  Remember, these are albums that you love every song!  My list would have to include Michael Jackson’s Off the Wall and the sound track to Mamma Mia, the Broadway version, not the movie.

Anita Baker’s Giving You the Best That I’ve Got has to be on my top ten along with Alanis Morissette’s Jagged Little Pill.  I did mention my musical taste was eclectic, didn’t I?  Elvis would make an appearance with the album from his 1968 television special—it was the first record I ever got when I got a record player for Christmas! (I was an infant, of course.)  I could go on here, but then I might get down to the Bay City Rollers or something and my kids don’t read this so I’d only be embarrassing myself.

So what albums/cds would you have on your list?  I dare you to share!

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on November 2, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I love me some Prince, too, especially his early work. My fave album of his was Prince, though Little Red Corvette would be a close second. And speaking of old school, I’d also have to add Van Halen’s Van Halen, back when David Lee Roth could sing. As for more modern fare, I purchase anything Jill Scott or John Legend puts out without listening to a single track, because I know I will love every single song on there. Every. Single. Song!

  2. I’ll see your eclectic and raise you a pure crazy. In no particular order of favoriteness:
    The Van Morrison album,
    Jimmy Buffett “songs I know by heart” (although Why don’t we get drunk and screw can’t be played in the presence of minors), Lucinda Williams “Car Wheels on a Gravel Road,”
    Emmy Lou Harris “Red Dirt Girl,”
    Keb’ Mo’ “Keep it Simple” and “Just Like You”,
    Alicia Keys, “As I Am,”
    MeatLoaf, “Bat out of Hell I & II,”
    Carpenters “Christmas Collection,”
    Cross Canadian RagWeed “Soul Gravy,”
    Ray Wylie Hubbard, “Live at Cibelo Creek”
    Phoebe Snow, “Something Real”
    The Subdudes, “Annunciation,”
    Sugarland, “Love on the INside,” and “Incredible Machine,”
    Wayman Tisdale, “Rebound” and “The best of Wayman Tisdale”

  3. Oh my goodness, some of these I’d forgotten about – like Michael Jackson’s Thriller and Phoebe Snow. Wow! Memory Lane for me here. Actually, like all of you, my tastes are eclectic but I like to listen to soundtracks like Gladiator, and Nelly, Justine Bieber (don’t scream!), and my daughter just turned me on to K-pop.

  4. The novel I’m writing now was initially set in the late 1940′s but I moved it to 1952. BIG difference in the music. I started out listening to the great blues and hard core country music of 1947 as I write and haven’t switched. GREAT song titles like “Pretty Mama Blues” and “Old Maid Boogie.”

  5. I love music, also, but I’ve gotten too lazy to purchase entire albums. Satellite radio was the best invention ever so I’m constantly switching between country, pop, and news in the car. I don’t listen to much at home with my cable news addiction and my need for silence when I work. I’m just not cool enough to comment…

  6. I love my eighties rock, pop, and funk. AC/DC can make me dance and sing in public. I know, crazy, huh? Didn’t see that coming, did you? I really love Foreigner, 38 Special, Meat Loaf, Time Band, Rod Stewart–all of it. Otis Redding’s “Sittin’ on the Dock of the Bay” makes me want to drink wine and chill. Love… And I love so many new artists as well. I think I’ll crank it up right now. Have a great weekend, everyone!

  7. Like Christy, I don’t think I’m cool enough to comment. 🙂 I love music but can’t think when it’s on because the tunes just engulf my brain. The last complete album I remember listening to was The Police’s Synchronicity. Now it’s just songs here and there and most of the time, I don’t even know the artist or band’s name.

    Love the mentions here. Many of them bring back great memories!

  8. I could play OneRepublic without skipping. But there are so many songs and artists’ works that have conveyed to my life, I could never name them all. Fun post!

  9. Sweet Baby James still touches my heart… But now so do Adele and Sarah McLachlin. I’m almost current!

