Banana Nut Bread

My guys love bananas. I however do not. I have a vivid memory of eating a banana as a young girl but near as I can figure, I had sunstroke and the end result wasn’t pretty – or discussion for a food post. To this day, I can’t stand the smell of bananas. Whenever any of my guys eat them, they’re not allowed near me with their banana breath.

This recipe started out as a labor of love but turned into a healthy favorite family snack.

In our house, we have bananas around for breakfast or lunches. However as soon as the bananas get spots, my guys won’t eat them. Needless to say, there’s always several bananas left on the counter that either get thrown away or turned into my version of Banana Nut Bread.

This recipe makes a single loaf with 1 to 2 bananas, doubled with 3 bananas or quadrupled with 6 bananas. You can also play fast and easy with the amount of white or whole wheat flour you use. My preference is half and half, originally because I didn’t want to scare my guys off with an all whole wheat flour concoction. In the end, it’s what suits our taste buds, so that’s the mixture I’ve stuck with.

Because I can easily make 4 loaves at once, I’ve always got a few loaves frozen for lunches or to pull out to take to my mom or my parents-in-law’s house, saving them the trouble of baking for themselves or guests.

Banana Nut Bread (makes a single loaf)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease a 9 X 5 X 3 inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, sift together:

1 cup white flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

Put the following ingredients into a blender:

3/4 cup skim milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

1 to 2 ripe bananas (when doubling recipe, use 3 bananas)

Blend until smooth, then add a handful of walnut halves and blend using the chop or grind function. (This saves on the time consuming task of chop-chop-chopping!)

Pour liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and mix well.

Turn into the prepared pan and bake for 65 to 70 minutes or till a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 10 to 20 minutes, then turn out of the pan to let cool on the counter.

Eat the loaf while it’s warm or freeze it for later use. And even if you’re like me and can’t stand bananas, give it a try because once it’s cooked, the banana smell and taste are totally gone, replaced by something far more delicious.

Enjoy!

So what’s your least favorite food and is there a reason why you can’t stant to eat it?

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on November 7, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Like your family, Sheila, no one here will eat the bananas once they turn brown which necessitated my learning to make banana bread. I add a tsp of cinnamon to mine or chocolate chips instead of the nuts. 🙂

  2. Mmmm…love banana bread. This looks like a great recipe.

    ~FringeGirl

  3. Yucky about your past experience, though I understand. I love banana bread though I hate even looking at “mushy” bananas. My family enjoys banana bread so thank you for the recipe.
    Patti

    • I once froze the unused bananas and when they thawed, they were still useable but were so mushy, I couldn’t bring myself to throw them into the recipe. LOL. So I get where you’re coming from, Patti. 🙂

  4. Thank you, Sheila. Left a comment but who knows if it went to spam or not??? Patti

  5. Leave it to you, Sheila … to take something you dislike and make something wonderful with it 🙂

    I can’t think of much I don’t like, but when Italians make minestrone they often use mixed vegies and in my time that included lima beans. Love the flavor and the thickness they add … can’t stand the sight or taste of them. I’d line them up on the side of my plate and my mom would scoop them up and goggle them up .. yuck!! STill white or pink beans make the best soup. Go figure 🙂

    • I sometimes use Lima beans in my chili recipe, Florence, but they’re rather mushy, aren’t they. At least your mom took pity on you and instead of making you sit at the table until you ate them, goggled them up herself. 🙂

  6. Nice post. Sounds really yummy! Problem is I’d be the only one eating it.

  7. I can’t make anyone eat anything with bananas in our house. I’m the only one who would eat the bread. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  8. Just the opposite of my house, Christy. Lol!

  9. Making bread is what I usually do with bananas, too. I only like the fruit when really ripe, or baked up with a few chocolate chips. 😉

  1. Pingback: Banana Nut Bread | Sheila Seabrook

