The buzz of Thanksgiving…

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving!

Hopefully, you already knew that.  🙂

I do it traditional…with turkey and ham, candied yams, corn casserole, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, potato salad, pumpkin pie, sopapilla cheesecake, and lemon meringue pie.

It is, I believe, more of a family holiday than possibly any other…even Christmas.  If that sounds weird, this is what I mean…  At Christmas–which is my favorite holiday of the entire year, by the way–yes there is family and food and that magical feeling in the air.  But it’s also chaotic and a buildup to the craze which by the end of the day always leaves me feeling a little sad that it’s over.   Thanksgiving is the beginning to that build.  It’s the kickoff to the season, where family gets together for sometimes the first time in a while, eats great food that we also haven’t had in a while, and starts talking about Christmas.

We talk about who’s going to venture out into the madness that is Black Friday and we pull out all the sales papers and help them make a plan.  Who is putting up their decorations on what day.  What people want for Christmas.  The adults do a drawing for a fun Christmas gift game we do every year.  The parades are on, the football games are on, desserts come out, everyone flops on the floor like seals…  It’s just a good day.  And nothing is over yet, because that buzz is in the air…Christmas is coming.

We sometimes talk about what we’re thankful for.  I have a lot to be thankful for this year.  Two kids who may be scraping by but they are making it.  One is on his own and learning how to be an adult.  The other is a senior in high school who has signed up to join the Navy in July.  My husband was just able to retire this year and is enjoying it.  I’ve had two books and a novella published this year…my dream.  None of it is easy…but they are blessings nonetheless.

And then there’s that magic coming.   Yes it’s expensive magic, but still, I’m like a little kid at Christmas.  🙂

So, what are your traditions?  Do you do Black Friday?  Do you have any crazy holiday rituals?

And more importantly, what are you eating??  🙂

Happy Thanksgiving!

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on November 21, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. We travel from NH to MA for Thanksgiving at my in-laws. On the way, we enjoy our family tradition of listening to Alice’s Restaurant. Thanksgiving wouldn’t be the same without it! And,yes, yes, we give thanks at the dinner table.

  2. No Black Friday for me! I hate that Thanksgiving has turned in to a shopping holiday. I’d rather be lazing around watching football and whatever marathon is on USA network than out shopping. We keep the meal traditional, too. Turkey (one roasted, one deep fried), two kinds of dressing, mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, green bean casserole, corn casserole, candied carrots, cranberry relish, rolls and, my favorite, the desserts: apple pie, pumpkin cheesecake and ice cream pie. Oh and Whiskey sours 🙂 After that, who has the energy to shop?

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Beautiful post, Sharla. I fed 60 at my husband’s office yesterday, our annual pre Thanksgiving warmup. Tomorrow, we’ll have family about 16. I’ve done this so many times, I could do it in my sleep, which is good and bad because I don’t want to forget about what this holiday is really about. Thanks for reminding me.
    Cheers!

  4. Sharla … I love the gathering of Thanksgiving. Even though I am far from my family … I created a family of friends who have shared Thanksgiving with me and helped me create new traditions.

    BUT … the meaning of Thanksgiving (after the gratitude) is that CHRISTMAS IS COMING !! I am one Christmas chesnut and even on my blog, I decorate and post from archives I NEVER leave up afer Jan. 6th … the Little Christmas … and I love making and giving gifts. The making part means I can keep Christmas all year as I craft and create for each of my loved ones.

    Thanks for your books … they gave me some wonderful moments and may you and yours have a health and Happy Thanksgiving 🙂 Then GO SHOP !!

  5. I like the way you reminded me why Thanksgiving is so much more fun than Christmas: because we anticipate the Christmas holidays! We do traditional and throw in a little flag football for the men. We don’t go anywhere near a retail outlet on Black Friday, but I admire those who do. Enjoy your holiday!

  6. I’m so ready for the meal! (Gonna go home and snack on celery and peanut butter tonight, so I’ll feel more freedom for eating come tomorrow…) We love corn casserole, too. And mmm, deviled eggs are my favorite.

    Not going to do Black Friday. My sister and I tried it two years ago, just to see what it was like, and it wasn’t worth it to us. I can’t handle the frantic feel and crowds. And I’m a really good bargain shopper under normal circumstances, so I don’t feel like I’m missing anything.

    Happy Thanksgiving, Sharla! And ladies. 🙂

  7. So cool seeing what everyone does!!! I have half my stuff done…or maybe a third really…I do some tonight and then some tomorrow. Tonight while we’re cooking we’re eating Sonic burgers. LOL.

  8. Since we had our Canadian Thanksgiving in October, I just want to wish you all a happy Thanksgiving tomorrow. Eat lots and enjoy your celebrations!

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving traditions… « Sharla Lovelace, Author

