A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

As I write this blog, we are one month away from Christmas day! One month! Holy Santa Clause, I’d better get busy!

As I put away my pumpkins and cornucopia and spice scented candles, I realized it was time to take the dreaded Christmas card picture of my children. I realized this when I checked the mail yesterday and we’d received our first card.

I LOVE receiving Christmas cards. I love the picture cards the best. If someone takes the time to craft a witty and interesting letter to accompany the picture card, you’re my hero. I must emphasize that witty and interesting are requirements for letters. Witty and interesting letters I share with my family and friends. Boring bullet points of your children’s and spouse’s accomplishments get skimmed and trashed as I am reminded why we only keep in touch through Christmas cards. 🙂

But I digress. Every year I argue with my kids about what they will wear and how close I need them to stand next to each other and the ridiculous looks on their faces when I try to snap a picture. What should take five minutes becomes at least an hour’s project and the results are often less than flattering.

How is everyone going to think you’re perfect unless I capture you both looking your best? I want to shout at them. Except many cards are mailed to people who actually know them and realize I’m trying to pull the wool over their eyes.

So, wish me luck on this adventure and enjoy this link to funny Christmas cards: http://www.pleated-jeans.com/2011/12/13/the-25-funniest-family-christmas-portraits-of-all-time/

**photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/vfranko/331570115/”>Manicosity</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on November 26, 2012, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’m going to have to get really creative to have a card with both kids on it this year. We forgot to take one this weekend and the prodigal son won’t be home again until the 23rd! I am so not organized. 😦

    • Do a picture card with two individual pictures. Have the prodigal son do a “selfie”, as my daughter would say, or have someone take a snapshot of him. Something on campus would be really nice!

      I snapped a picture yesterday and got them ordered! As predicted, it took an hour!!

  2. Oh, Christy, I loved the one with the couple and their MacBook! What a hoot. And the Mary, Joseph, and the dog in the blanket. Thank you for a morning laugh.
    Patti

  3. We all dread the yearly Christmas card photo/frustration session. I was fortunate enough to get a “good-enough” one at the family wedding we attended in October. At this point, if they are together, smiling and looking at the camera, it’s the best I can hope for. Shutterfly, here I come!

  4. We’ve always just snapped a picture at Christmas but looking back, I wish I’d taken the time and been more creative. The kids — especially when they were younger — would have loved it! And what a memory it would’ve been. Oh well, at least we have pictures, even if they’re not hilariously funny like the link you shared, Christy. I’m still smiling over the one with the family all focused on their hand held devices. Or some of the photoes with at least one of the kids looking disgusted about the whole procedure. Thanks for the giggles and smiles on this fine Monday morning. And good luck with your own family pictures. 🙂

    • THanks, Sheila! Just got an email that my order of cards has shipped. Those puppies should make an appearance in our friends homes by early December!

  5. Oh, wow. You’re getting a hearty round of applause from me! I haven’t done Christmas cards at all for a few years, so I’m impressed by your efforts. 🙂

    Wow. Those funny Christmas card photos you linked to are… somethin’, alright.

