Gifts

I have to apologize for my post. I’m a day late! But I’m not a dollar short, as the old adage goes, because yesterday I found the single my nine-year-old tucked into my birthday card last month.

Biggest is pretty thoughtful for a young ‘un. She loves to give gifts, too, and she’s got talent in giving presents specific to your interests.

Last year she bought me a chocolate calculator, which was designed to look like a Hershey’s bar, at her school’s annual book fair. (In this particular case, my interest is chocolate, not math.) “I saw it and knew you’d love it, Mommy,” she said.

She knows I dig owls, too, so this year she gave me a stuffed one she and her sister named Owlbert. He hoots around on my bed (and sometimes gets a little frisky when it’s sleepy time, but that’s another post), and when I see him I remember her love for me.

gift

from freedigitalimages.net

None of Biggest’s gifts are expensive or elaborate, they are sweetly tailored and simple.

Which brings me to another adage: It’s the thought that counts.

We’re getting very close to Christmas, somehow, and so I can’t help but think about how we get caught up in the “need” for big-ticket items, the best toys, the braggiest presents. I’ve had some stressful moments during my holiday planning, because there’s not a lot of room in my budget for a fancy plethora under the tree this year.

But then I remember the thought and effort I’ve put into my purchases, and the love with which my gifts will be given. That has to count for something, right?

So I’m borrowing from my daughter’s gift-giving spirit this year. Will you?

About Janna

writer, editor, marketing assistant, resume consultant, mom, wannabe philosopher, advocate, and possibilitarian / you can call me Janna

Posted on December 6, 2012, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. As the kids get older and their wants become more expensive, it is easy to get caught in the money trap. Gifts given with meaning and love no matter the expense mean the most. Those are the ones I remember from my childhood and the ones I know my kids will remember, too. Thanks for reminding us what Christmas is really about!

    • You’re right, Christy. We really have to be conscious about what drives us this time of year. Merry Christmas!

  2. I agree with Christy – as the kids get older their gifts get more expensive. My son wants the new Jordans coming out on December 17th or something and they’re the cheaper ones at $170. So it almost boils down to getting one present and that’s it. The fun of watching the kids open up a bunch of little gifts is gone because of the economy and what they’re pushing kids to “like”. AACK.

    • There is no shortage in opportunity this time of year to teach our kids what’s most important. It’s not always easy.

  3. We’ve had a lot of fun this year buying gifts for several homeless families sponsored by our church and a non-profit organization my husband volunteers for. Last weekend, a friend and lots of his friends ‘recycled’ 700 bikes for kids to receive as Christmas gifts. It’s really helped our whole family feel the true spirit of giving. My kids are older so both have a few items they want for Christmas, but the lists they’ve made for things to buy these other kids is much longer!

  4. It’s a good lesson for the kids and they learn that Christmas isn’t about the presents, it’s about the love we share with them. 🙂

