Dates…

Today is 12.12.12.   A repetitive date  that won’t happen again for another hundred years. 

calendar

Well, that is, unless the world ends on the 21st, in 9 days. In that case, we’ve seen our last repetitive anything.  🙂  But I’m not going there, because my daughter is scheduled to travel to NYC that evening, and while I don’t believe the Mayans, I do believe in crackpots wanting to use our fear against us and do crazy things.

mayan-calendar_bigger

 

But I digress…  🙂

I really wanted to talk about my craziness of remembering dates.  Dates I don’t really care to remember!   Not the important ones!   Oddball times of my life stick with me, and raise up and wave every year.  It’s the goofiest thing.  I can’t remember people’s birthdays to save my life… but I can remember the day I started dating a major guy in high school…Sep 18th…when I broke up with him…Oct 16th.    I remember a very crucial kick-me-in-the-gut party one year on Aug 8th,  when I met my ex on Dec 7th, and something I will not name on July 24th. 🙂

Why?

Probably because when I was younger I tracked everything.  Everything was important, and vital, drama-filled, and life-altering, so of course I transferred data from journal to calendar to calendar for years.    In my older years, I’m doing good to remember what is important from week to week.  I have a list on my fridge of all my family and extended family’s birthdays and anniversaries.  And then I forget to look at it and miss them.  *head slap*

My anniversary is July 15th.  I make sure I know that one. 🙂

Enjoy 12.12.12!!

 

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Inquiring minds want to know about July 24th, Sharla. 🙂

  2. I think dates don’t stick any more because the older we get, the more life’s little ups and downs roll off our shoulders. THANK GOD we don’t react to things the way we did in high school. I’d have thrown myself in front of a bus long ago if I hadn’t gotten over my over-dramatic self.

    Hope your daughter has fun in the big apple!

  3. I couldn’t function without my calendar, Sharla. It has everyone’s birthdays and doctor appointments, etc.. and if it disappeared – AACK, I don’t know what I’d do. Once I write something down, then I CAN forget it…and most times DO.
    Patti

  4. Wow, Sharla. Besides my wedding anniversary and a few family member’s birthdays, I only remember one significant date. Aug 24th. That was the first time I went out with my husband, who was not yet my husband, but a few years later would become my husband. 🙂

  5. You’re funny! Maybe someday the date thing will come in handy. And it sounds like a neat tic to give a character. 😉

    Merry Christmas, Sharla!

  6. Merry Christmas to you all!!! Have a great holiday!

  7. Thanks, Sharla. The same to you and yours. If we all survive the 21st … we’ll be back for another great year 🙂 Oh, and BTW … I can hardly remember my own birthday, but I do remember when the kids were born.

