Heroes and Innocents

After a weekend spent feeling as if the world had taken yet another turn for the worse, I find myself still unable to put into words my feelings about what happened in Newtown, CT. My twelve-year-old cried herself to sleep for the victims, but she also cried because she felt scared. Her innocence was shattered; a sacred place—her school and every school in America—no longer felt safe.

I held her as she cried and had no sage words of wisdom to offer. I couldn’t explain what happened, I couldn’t tuck it neatly into a box that we could together hide under the bed or bury in the yard. The only thing I could do, the only thing we could do was to pray.

She will return to school today with a huge chunk of her childhood gone, looking over her shoulder at strangers, distracted by the horrible possibility of what if. I will drop her off and pray nothing happens. Millions of parents across this great land will do the same.

Hug your children, say a prayer, light a candle, love one another, and never forget these 26 people who died on 12/14/2012 as heroes and innocents.

Charlotte Bacon, 6
2/22/06

Daniel Barden, 7
9/25/05

Rachel Davino, 29
07/17/83

Olivia Engel, 6
7/18/06

Josephine Gay, 7
12/11/05

Ana M. Marquez-Greene, 6
4/4/06

Dylan Hockley, 6
3/8/06

Dawn Hochsprung, 47
6/28/65

Madeleine F. Hsu, 6
7/10/06

Catherine V. Hubbard, 6
6/8/06

Chase Kowalski, 7
10/31/05

Jesse Lewis, 6
6/30/06

James Mattioli, 6
3/22/06

Grace McDonnell, 7
11/4/05

Anne Marie Murphy, 52
7/25/60

Emilie Parker, 6
5/12/06

Jack Pinto, 6
5/6/06

Noah Pozner, 6
11/20/06

Caroline Previdi, 6
9/7/06

Jessica Rekos, 6
5/10/06

Avielle Richman, 6
10/17/06

Lauren Rousseau, 30
6/82

Mary Sherlach, 56
02/11/56

Victoria Soto, 27 
11/04/85

Benjamin Wheeler, 6
9/12/06

Allison N. Wyatt, 6
7/03/06

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on December 17, 2012, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Yesterday my 14-year-old daughter and I went Christmas shopping and were in Starbucks getting a coffee. It was crowded and people were talking and laughing. Suddenly this big guy entered through the side door and my heart did a little pitter-pat. I thought for a second that he was going to pull out a gun and go crazy right there. He didn’t. But those were my thoughts. It made me sick to think that this is what went through my head.

  2. My children and grandchildren have gone beyond the ages of the little babes. They are safe or as safe as any of us can be in this crazy world. There are no words for this, no reason, no way to incorporate it in our life experience.

    The raw truth is that we cannot know when or where these things can happen. Horror is becoming something we no longer see on TV or the movies, no longer tales of what goes bump in the night. Horror was this die-hard New Yorker realizing that even the Twin Towers were not indestructible. Horror was Columbine and horror is knowing that these innocent babies and their teachers were not safe in their tiny world.

    May they all find peace and may those who knew and loved them find a way to move on.

  3. Amen.

  4. We forget what a cruel world this can be. My prayers go the families and to all the children who will never see the world the same. Their innocense has been shattered.

  5. In the midst of this horrific act of violence, I take heart in a father’s willingness to forgive. Where we cannot always control the actions of others, we can always control our reaction.

    God bless him and his family, and all those affected by this cruelty.

