Gratitude Wednesday

Sheila's Christmas SantaWith the events of last week still fresh in my mind, and the Seabrook Christmas preparations in full swing, I decided to take a moment to voice my gratitude.

1. I’m grateful for my husband who always knows what I need, whether it’s a hug, a break from the daily grind or whatever new bit of fascinating technology I’m currently drooling over.

2. I’m grateful for my eldest son who every Wednesday at noon gives me advice on plot holes or social media or computer issues.

3. I’m grateful for my youngest son, who makes my coffee before he heads off to work each morning and ensures there’s enough there to get me through the day.

4. I’m grateful for my family and our 2009 trip to Cuba. Not only was it the first time I’d ever been to a vacation resort, but it was the first time since I was a kid that my parents and siblings got together for a family vacation. I’m also grateful for this trip because it was the last vacation I would ever be able to take with my dad and I still cherish those wonderful moments we shared.

5. I’m grateful for the chance to spend more time with my mom. Having worked all of my adult life, visits with my parents were always rushed and fraught with stressors from a stressful day job. Now that I’m focused on writing full time, I call her every day or two, and manage to slip out of the house at least a couple of times a week to visit her and catch up on all the latest news.

6. I’m grateful for the bountiful table we are fortunate to have this Christmas and pray that others less fortunate have a local food bank in their area to supply their needs, as we have in our small town.  If you haven’t yet done so, please donate.

7. I’m grateful for my many online friends, who come into my virtual house every day and share their life with me. It makes this huge world almost tiny and intimate, and I get to experience life through your eyes.

8. I’m grateful for the upcoming year. It always feels like a fresh start with infinite possibilities. May 2013 bring each one of you good health, much happiness, and fulfill your cherished dreams.

From my house to yours, may your holidays be filled with laughter and joy.

So now tell me, what are you grateful for today?

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on December 19, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I’m grateful for the health of my beautiful children and my husband. I’m grateful for their faith in me. And, given the events of last week, I am grateful that a young college freshman had the guts to tell someone (in this case his resident adviser, my son) that his roommate had not one, not two, not three, not four, but FIVE loaded handguns in his dorm room. I still have to pinch myself daily that a potential tragedy was avoided. But I also wrestle with the nagging question of why? Peace to everyone.

  2. Sheila, there is so much for us to be grateful for that this tiny space can hardly fit it all. I’d ditto some of yours, the memories of so many great Christmas celebrations with family and friends and for meeting so many wonderful and kind people on blogs and in my on-line chapter. Of course, I am very grateful that we met and you have introduced me to so much more of what this writerly life is all about.

    I hope you and yours have a joyous Holiday. Thanks 🙂

  3. I’m grateful for the health and safety of my family and friends (both on and offline). I, too, hope 2013 brings much happiness and joy to the world.

  4. Christy, may 2013 keep us all healthy and safe. Have a great holiday season. 🙂

  5. Yours is a great list. Thanks for sharing, Sheila.

    I’m grateful for sheltered warmth and coziness. Transportation. For those who love me as I am. For how far I’m come, and how far I have yet to go–because it gives me something to look forward to and strive for.

  6. That is a terrific list! I am grateful that this past year I was blessed with not one, but two opportunities for a wonderful vacation with my husband. We got to get away from everything and really relax and enjoy ourselves. I’m looking forward to more travel in 2013. With any luck, I’ll have another amazing vacation to report on my blog next year.

    Happy holidays to you and yours!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  7. What a great list, Sheila. I am so blessed that you are part of my life. I treasure your wisdom, friendship and cheery smile.

    With my family I am grateful for the opportunity to make new memories with my grandchildren. I am so conscious of my them. given the events of the past week.

    I am grateful to be doing work I love and to work with people I respect. And I’m grateful to be able to explore this wonderful world of publishing on my own terms.

    Merry Christmas, Sheila.

  8. I’m grateful for every breath I take, every smile, every hug, every act of kindness and for my freedom to follow my passion. Life is so unpredictable and should be appreciated each and every day.

    Merry Christmas and peace to all.

  1. Pingback: Gratitude Wednesday | Sheila Seabrook

