CHRISTMAS JUMPING JACKS

p

It’s hard to believe that my kids were little at one time, but they were. During the holidays, they got so amped up they drove me crazy in a fun, I-know-this-shall–pass-but-all-too-quickly kind of way. If I was smart, I would have worn them out with chores or exercise. Ten thousand Christmas jumpings jacks would have probably worked, especially when they couldn’t count that high and would have to start over again. Still those times with my kids growing up were the best, a wonderfully odd mix of white knuckled anticipation, fear, and exhaustion.

Which reminds me of the first time I was pregnant, (and no, that’s not me in the photo) it was a la la land of wonder and delight. Even when I was three weeks late, I was huge but happy, excited about being a mom, prepared to the nth. Fast forward three years. I’m about to pop with my son, instead of craving brown rice and vegetables like I did with the first pregnancy, I was heavy into Big Macs and fries, and, instead of reveling in anticipation, I was so tired of being pregnant I was doing jumping jacks to get the baby out.

Okay, fast forward again 23 years. We’re 75 days away from the March 5 pub date of THE WISDOM OF HAIR and I feel like I’m 23 years pregnant. The immense gratitude I have for being in this long awaited position is being swamped by a ticking clock that refuses to fast forward through the holidays, my birthday, my husband’s birthday, my son’s birthday to get to March 5, which is the day before my daughter’s birthday.

I am a walking Christmas disaster. I did not spend hours shopping, trying to find the perfect gift for those oh-so-hard- to-buy-for loved ones. EVERYONE IS GETTING A GIFT CERTIFICATE! And you know what? That feels pretty good. What doesn’t feel good is waking up in the middle of the night all the time. At first I thought it was because I have to pee, but I’m sure it’s the jumping jack anxiety stirring me awake, and I get up and go because it beats lying there in the dark on spiky pins and needles.

Don’t get me wrong 2012 has been a phenomenal year, but in so many ways it’s been gut wrenchingly hard. Aside from the tragedies this year both foreign and domestic, we’ve lost dear friends who went all too soon. Losing someone, especially those with big personalities like Bryan Buske and Christie Rosen, makes you look at things a little differently. It makes you realize how fleeting life really is. I know that’s supposed to make me want to slow things down and cherish every possible moment, but it doesn’t. I just want to get to March 5.

So, happy holidays my friends. May yours be filled with peace and contentment. As for me, let the jumping jacks begin.

Posted on December 24, 2012, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Isn’t it SO true that life goes by all too quickly and we’re left with all the memories and pictures of the past but sometimes not the people in the photos. I see my babies in those photographs and cannot fathom that 18 and 14 years have passed by so rapidly. I remember well being pregnant and hating that I had no appetite and just wanted it over with so I could hold my baby. The next child was anticipation of the birth mom’s due date which came sooner than expected and my husband and I found ourselves picking up our adopted little girl with no diapers or anything back at the house! Thank you for the trip down your memory lane, Kim.
    Patti

  2. How true, Kim. The first time is filled with breathless, sleepless anticipation. The second time is always, just get this over so I can get back to my reguarly scheduled life. LOL. 🙂 Relax, enjoy, and have a safe and happy holiday season with your family and friends. Before you know it, it’ll be March 5th, 2013!

  3. On the flip side, I loved being pregnant! I was anxious to meet my children, but there was something so special about that connection to the baby that only I could feel. The little flutters and kicks inside, never being alone when the baby was always with you. Don’t wish away the anticipation of your book release. These are special times that you won’t ever get back again!

  4. Kim, savor these last few weeks of anticipation. Even when you are a multi-published author–and you will be–WISDOM OF HAIR–will always be your first. 🙂 Besides, I’m living vicariously through you, my first book’s due date was moved up and I’m a little overwhelmed. Thanks for befriending me this year and for all you sage guidance! Merry Christmas and it’s going to be a fabulous debut year for both of us in 2013.

  5. I can’t wait to share in the joy of each member here at WU as they approach launch day. Have a joyous Holiday, Kim and before you know it March will be upong you 🙂

  6. Agreed. So many things this year remind us how precious each and every day is. Wishing everyone a prosperous, healthy new year…and congratulations on your upcoming release!

