Winter Weather Heaven

IMG_1623

Winter isn’t my favorite time of year. I dislike rain during the day though I love the sound of it during the night. I’d rather have the cold and lower temps because then I can still do whatever I want outside and just wear additional clothing.

There’s something claustrophobic about having to stay indoors with the windows closed. I like to smell the air coming from outside as opposed to blowing through the heater vents. I enjoy looking out the window at the blue sky, not the dark grey clouds or raindrops pinging on the glass picnic table on the deck.

But there is one thing I absolutely love about winter. I go up to the barn (which is only seventeen minutes from my house) and find Maximus in the turnout. I whistle to him from far above the enclosure where he’s standing in the mud and he turns his head to find where the sound is coming from.

oakland-hills

I put on his halter, lead him to the grooming area and start the arduous task of brushing dried dirt and muck off his huge 1,425-pound body. After plunking the English saddle on his back and draping the bridle over this head, he’s ready to go. I clip on my helmet, pull on my riding gloves, grab my crop and climb up.

We set out, alone, clip-clopping along the beautiful trail that winds back and forth in the hills of Oakland, high above the stables. Everything is screaming “GREEN”, fog wends through the trees, and there isn’t a sound to be heard. It’s just he and I and there’s no one else around.

And I am in Winter Heaven…  Do you have a favorite activity to get rid of the Winter Blues?

Posted on January 11, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Sounds like heaven to me, Patti! You are lucky to have mild weather all year round. I enjoy running outside in the cold. I’m very heat sensitive so summers are hard for me. Enjoy your winter rides!

  2. Better rain, than snow, my friend! It’s another story up here in Canada! Cheers!

  3. Maximus sounds wonderful! I don’t have much experience with horses, but they are really incredible creatures.

    Another writer friend of mine let her (small) horse into the house last week, because it was too wet/cold outside for her daughter to spend time with him there. Wow!

    I don’t think I have any favorite doldrum cures during the wintertime than during any other time of the year. My go-tos, depending on my mental state, are disconnection from the outside world, or spending time with those who are special to me.

  4. I love to swim indoors during winters. Something about the steamy windows to the outside is comforting.

    I also love to go with my daughter to get her horse when he’s turned out. Watching him joyfully canter over to her always makes me smile. 🙂

  5. I don’t like the cold, but do enjoy bundling up and being warm and cozy on the sofa with a good book and hot drink. I also enjoy fresh air – so even though it raises the heating costs, I still leave a few windows cracked – which I can’t do in the heat of a TX summer.

    I haven’t ridden a horse since I was a kid, but you just inspired me to give it a whirl again.

  6. I TALK TO MY SISTER.

  7. On a long snowy day, I like to wrap up in a quilt, stretch out on the couch and listen to the sounds of someone else shoveling snow.
    Your post reminded me that when I was a kid I used to ride English. Haven’t thought about that in years. Now it’s cars, subways and commuter trains.

  8. Patti – I so love winter or most any cold weather as long as I don’t have to fight black ice or several feet of snow. I think I spent too many years in Europe to ever truly ever become acclimated to all the warm weather we have in the states. Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Sweden, Norway, and other countries spoiled me. Those countries are acclimated to the severe weather and take it all in stride. A southern girl I’m not and I need a little more cold weather to keep my blood happy. Keep those ride with Maximus going. They are heaven on earth. You had great showing in this blog – I was there with you – terrific blog.

    • You are so supportive and always write just great comments, Sheri. You let us into your life and allow us to know a tidbit about you with every comment. I wish I could go to Holland (or do they call it The Netherlands?) one day to see where Maximus used to live. Otherwise the cold is not in my blood, nor the heat of Southern states. California girl all the way!

  9. I’m definitely a summer girl, but only because our winters are cold and snowy and icy, Patti. If I lived in your part of the country, I’d enjoy the winter more than the summer because I don’t like really hot temperatures. Hmmm, I’ll bet your winters are very similar to our summer time temperatures. 🙂

    • I can’t believe our winters are similar to your summers! Really? Wow, I didn’t know it was so cool there. It’s all in what you’re used to. Sheri de Grom was saying that living in the northern part of Europe has made her really unaccustomed to the hot south in the U.S.

  10. Patti, that sounds like a real slice of heaven to be sure 🙂 Me?

    I left winter behind and now think of the three weeks of “chilly” weather we get here and daydream about winters in NYC.

    I absolutely loved the change of seasons, that snap in the air, the difference in the blue of the sky, the white skies heavy with snow, the gray blowing cold rain … such a great contrast. Snuggle in a comfy throw and read … gaze out the windows and hybernate or take a long walk in the hills. Ah, now a cold front is when the temp dips to a threatening 50 degrees and everyone runs around like turtles hiding inside the sweaters and jackets they only use for a few weeks and not for months 🙂

  11. Donna Coe-Velleman

    Maximus is beautiful! You’ve said in the past he’s a Fresian, right? I saw a couple at The Hampton Classic in Bridgehampton. Gorgeous animals and so gentle. Love them.

    Let’s see to fight the winter blues I read, do crafts, bake cookies. If there’s snow, after I’ve shoveled, I might go play in it.

    Enjoy those special times on the trail.

  12. JEALOUS. Riding a horse again is still on my 40 After 40 (aka bucket) list. Sounds lovely!

  13. Sounds WONDERFUL. I’d love the freedom of hopping on my horse and riding the hills!

