Enzo Will Steal Your Heart

I originally wrote this post in January of 2009, for my then-blog Something She Wrote. The declaration herein is still true, this remains my favorite book. It’s the title I recommend to everyone, and I’ve loaned my trade paperback so many times, it’s looking pretty ragged…

Have you read The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein?

photo from theliterarylollipop.wordpress.com

photo from theliterarylollipop.wordpress.com

At just a few pages in, I knew this book would be special. It could have been the hook, the voice, the flawless mechanics or easy flow. Maybe it was all those things, because Stein is an amazing storyteller.

What I know without a doubt is, I finally have an answer to the question What’s your favorite book? It’s this, a story about the human condition… told from a dog’s point of view.

Enzo is a mix-breed with a penchant for race cars. He’s also a deep-thinking wannabe man. He’s self-taught (with “a degree of literacy”), observant, intuitive. And he fiercely loves his master, Denny.

It’s Denny, a semi-professional car racer, who teaches Enzo the rules of the track; It’s Enzo who, while watching his human family struggle through heartbreak and more, turns those rules into life lessons for us.

I laughed out loud. I worried. I wept. I shared excerpts with those around me. But best of all? I found it.

Perfection.

My favorite book.

What’s your favorite book?

About Janna

writer, editor, marketing assistant, resume consultant, mom, wannabe philosopher, advocate, and possibilitarian / you can call me Janna

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I was thinking about this and came to the conclusion that I have not found it, though any bookI finish has been because I have loved it…but to say that I have a favorite one, I cannot…never the less, I’ll gladly keep reading looking for it 🙂 Alexandra

  2. I’m constantly in search of the best book ever. I love so many it is hard to pick a favorite. Thanks for sharing yours!

  3. One of my favorite books, Janna, is Joshilyn Jackson’s gods in Alabama. To this day, the characters still live within me. Another favorite is Lisa Lutz’s The Spellman Files. Totally laugh-out-loud funny. 🙂 Thanks for sharing Enza’s book. I definitely need to check that out.

  4. Enzo, not only stole my heart, he reaffirmed my belief in the goodness of both human and animal nature. I loved the story so much. It was a book club selection and all of us loved it … I mean didn’t you just love the ending?

    • Yes, very well said. I have to agree!

      The ending is spectacular. I’ve read the book through twice, but just the first and last chapters several times. Thinking I may be due again!

  5. I read that book and remember loving it, but don’t recall the details. Your post is a great nudge for me to re-read it. Thanks for that. My favorite book? 19 Minutes by Jodi Picoult. I’ll never forget it.
    Patti

    • I think I read that one, Patti! I’ve read several of hers, anyway, and am pretty sure I borrowed that one from my sis. Either that or I meant to but haven’t yet… Must investigate now that I’m thinking about it. 😉

      From what I understand, actor Patrick Dempsey bought the movie rights, and it’s in pre-production. He’ll play Denny. 🙂 I’m just hoping this is one where the movie can actually hold a candle to the book.

  6. Thanks, Janna, for the recommendation. I’ll have to recommend it to my book club! As for a favorite book, I have to go with Pride and Prejudice. Old school, I know!

    • I admit, I’ve tried and tried to get into the classics, but I can’t. 😦

      Hope your book club chooses it!

